DEV Community

Cover image for What's Your Method of Finding a New Job? 🤔
Kevin K. Johnson
Kevin K. Johnson

Posted on

What's Your Method of Finding a New Job? 🤔

While it makes all the sense in the world to browse job boards, I've been more likely to do a search for local web design and development companies first.

Sites like Clutch rank those companies—though its filters are impossible to use on mobile. That aggregation has been a good help.

Who's doing it better? …or at least differently?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
darkes profile image
Victor Darkes

I personally like to just think of companies that I see regularly and go their websites. It helps me know their mission statements and do good research on the company opposed to just using aggregators. Aggregators are good but they don't have everything.

Collapse
 
recss profile image
Kevin K. Johnson

What sort of companies do you mean? Is this anything from Nike and Apple, or specifically focused on web design and development?

Collapse
 
darkes profile image
Victor Darkes

I start with just the big names I can think of so Nike and Apple. I'll check out their websites and most likely Nike might be a type of company that outsources that work and that's ok and I learn and move on. I'll go through the high profile tech companies too. I certainly treated looking for a job like it was a job in and of itself. A lot of companies only list openings on their own site and going to. Big company will help you quickly learn the best practices when you're new to the industry.

Collapse
 
hussein_cheayto profile image
hussein cheayto

It depends. If you're a new grad, you should search for any company just to get started (check linkedin and glassdoor).
If it's a programming field, then you should work hard andbm increase your skills to be competent enough to get the job. Don't forget that you're not the only one applying for the same role position.

If you're a junior or a senior, try not to leave your job unless you get another one. Also, search using Linkedin and glassdoor for new jobs.
Since you're experienced in a certain field, you can try and send your cv to companies that you love to work at.

Collapse
 
shilpapatil12 profile image
Shilpa Patil

Being in this industry for more than 15 years, I now prefer to apply through Reference only.

Collapse
 
recss profile image
Kevin K. Johnson

I wish I knew more people in front-end development and surrounding jobs to have that option. But it does seem to work wonders.