DEV Community

Cover image for Do we learn from mistakes/bugs? 💻
Renato
Renato

Posted on • Updated on

Do we learn from mistakes/bugs? 💻

Introduction

Hi guys, how are you doing?
The main idea of this post is to talk a little bit about our experiences fighting with some bugs or mistakes we know and need to fix but at the end of the problem we learn something. Some of them are invalidating and we can't continue developing and others are just warnings but sometimes we really need them fixed.

I don't wanna motivate you to "learn from bugs/mistakes" because I think the best way to do it is from documentation, but due to my experience I guess we can learn from them.

To the point...

I have learnt a lot from some struggling situations, from coding to setting up an environment. I will give a simple example that could help you to understand what I mean.

I remember facing with Apache Cordova setting up issues a few years ago and with React Native some time after that. In both cases I had to read, to study and to find out a lot of info about that, not just a light search. That time I was using Ubuntu and it was too interesting for me find out how ~/.bashrc or ~/.bash_profile works, and $PATH as well.

Simple things maybe for someone with some years of developing experience, but I found it so awesome to learn from that situation.

Conclusion

This is just a simple sample, but do you think the same? do you learn from bugs/mistakes?


Thanks for reading 🙌 👋

Top comments (0)