DEV Community

render(ATL)
render(ATL)

Posted on

Episode #8: Unconventional Tech Career Paths with Ezekiel Price

An excerpt from RenderATL's Culture & Code podcast Episode #8: Unconventional Tech Career Paths with Ezekiel Price (@verybigbank):

Ashley:
Something else that you mentioned in your earlier comments as well that jumped out to me was kind of we need to have a good example, basically, of what success and, I don't know, how cool the field is. And for software engineering, we've seen that evolve. We have shows like Silicon valley, where it shows all the different stereotypes of people in the industry, all these influencers on TikTok that are like, this is how you can break in and make six figures in tech. Do you see a future like that for your profession or for other unconventional pass? And if so, where does that start? How do you get that out there?

Ezekiel:
I think the most appealing part for me is the freedom. So right now, I'm taking some time off, and I'm on this big balcony talking to you and making sure I have time to get stuff done that I want to get done. And just two weeks ago, I was doing 32 jobs in a week. And so if I want to work for one week and take two weeks off and get stuff that I want to get done, that level of freedom is a 60 year old's level of freedom. I just don't know too many people this young that can leave and come when they please. And so, I believe if more people had that freedom or knew that level of freedom and know the source of how this all works, maybe somebody with more entertainment value, I think I'm pretty fun, but if somebody was a TikToker or a social influencer that knows how to move an audience were to come along and see what this kind offers or even take part in it, I think there could be a chance for some real appeal there. The substance is the freedom.

Ashley:
Absolutely.

Ezekiel:
For me.

Ashley:
No, yeah. That is super compelling. Even someone that, like I work a nine to five. And it's great, because it's still pretty open and flexible, but I don't get to just decide I can take two weeks off and also sort of group what jobs and the money that I make into other weeks. And that seems like a whole other luxury in itself. So that's awesome that you get to experience that.

Ezekiel:
Also to make it more appealing, just to shout out how the underpinnings of this lifestyle, three things I would like to share that I would never have thought how this started out is that I do afford a driver. I do afford a rental BMW, which allows me to feel comfortable and not have to have car back problems or something from being in the car all day. And I do have discounts around the country for where I can stay. So it kind of, along with the freedom of the job, then comes of how you spend your time outside the job or how much you're in demand. Okay, well they're willing to make sure that all your accommodations are taken for. Maybe not directly. Maybe there's just per job, they'll pay you a travel fee or something like that. But when your travel is kind of covered, it kind of makes the job not so hard on you. But you got to get stuff done and you got to have a great reputation.

This was an excerpt from Culture & Code, a podcast brought to you by RenderATL that is focused on leveling up your tech career and exploring new technologies.

You can listen to the full episode and read the complete transcript on our website here.

Top comments (0)