DEV Community

Cover image for I Did Something Scary
Jeremy Grifski
Jeremy Grifski

Posted on • Updated on

I Did Something Scary

If you know me, you know I've been blogging about code since late 2016. Since then, I graduated college, started working in the industry, and ultimately transitioned into a PhD program. Now, I'm just days away from my qualifying exam, and I'm burnt out. To cope with the stress, I decided to do something scary: I made a YouTube video.

As an introvert, this is something that I've avoided for a long time. After all, I'd much rather be sitting in front of a keyboard and typing away. But after a year of teaching, I thought I could try transitioning those skills into videos.

To be honest, I had a lot of fun with this. It's surprising what you can do with a webcam these days. At any rate, thanks for stopping by! I appreciate it.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Nice job on your first video! I just do screencasts (no video of my face) - but it's funny how you can get a version of stage fright even just sitting in front of your own computer at home :) Good job, and good luck on future videos!

Collapse
 
renegadecoder94 profile image
Jeremy Grifski

Thanks, Chris! I appreciate the encouragement.

Collapse
 
l04db4l4nc3r profile image
Angad Sharma

Great work. I faced the same issue and know how difficult it is to get out of the bubble of anonymity. But now I have a Udemy course on the way :)

Collapse
 
vimmer9 profile image
Damir Franusic

Always wanted to try something similar but I think writings suits me more.

Great job 👍

Collapse
 
furtleo profile image
Leonardo Furtado

Nice job, i'll recommend your video to some friends. good luck on future videos <3