DEV Community

ResoTap
ResoTap

Posted on

Classes, constructors and objects, oh my!

It has been awhile but figured was a good time to write since I have just begun my deep dive into the depths of JS! One thing The Odin Project(TOP) has done really well is providing a structure that is cohesive and easy to follow. The third party material is to-the-point and rarely tackles material that you haven't been introduced to yet. Which is impressive, the whole course is like a well constructed quilt. Filled with different fabrics, textures and designs but still manages to come together in a pleasant way. (Makes me excited to get involved with some open source projects down the line!)

Currently, I am learning more about objects, classes, constructors, methods, this and how to appropriately invoke them all. Just finished reading through this great article that TOP provided at the bottom of one of the lessons that does a great job at explaining many different ways to use all the above.

Gentle Explanation of 'this' in JS.

I think the best part about the article is how the author, Dmitri, rigidly sticks to the correct descriptors when talking through each example. I found it a bit different/difficult to read at first but as I went through each section it became easier to understand as the style in which he writes remains the same and does not deviate. Thus making these topics easy to grasp.

Felt like giving a shout out to Dmitri Pavlutin for the great resource!

Top comments (0)