DEV Community

ResoTap
ResoTap

Posted on

First post, lets see where this goes.

So I just found this site and decided that it would be a good idea to start blogging/writing about where I am at in my journey. I am currently working my way through the Foundations portion of The Odin Project.

In the process of refactoring a rock, paper, scissors program so that it can be interacted with and displayed through the web page of a browser instead of the console. I am learning a lot through this process and after struggling this last week to figure out what I was missing I finally had a breakthrough!

Thanks to this post I figured out how 'e' can represent an event and that after triggering this event an object is passed to the handler function which can then be referenced within that handler function elsewhere. Originally I had no idea where this 'e' argument was coming from but this one post was so nicely worded it cleared everything up and the fog was lifted.

I will likely go into more detail in future posts, with snippets of any code I was working on but, for now I just had to get off my chest the sense of relief and satisfaction I felt when finding this solution. Really does make all the struggling worth while when the pieces start to come together.

Top comments (0)