DEV Community

Ryan
Ryan

Posted on

So many things to learn...

The path to web development seems to have a lot of steps. HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Bootstrap, Tailwind, not to mention getting into the back-end programming and languages.

It's very easy to end up in the rabbit hole of learning. I initially started out trying to absorb everything I could about every language I could find. This quickly became overwhelming and caused a brief moment of panic. Will I be able to do this? If so, when?

Once that panic subsided I set out to find a clear path through the haze. I've never been one to want to put the time in early, always instead preferring getting to the "good stuff". But I've seen that concentrating on HTML/CSS initially will help in the long run. My goal has since shifted slightly, focusing on becoming very proficient in these two languages. I know JavaScript will need to be added as well but it feels like having a solid foundation in HTML/CSS now will make learning the other aspects that much easier.

And then I read about CSS preprocessors, frameworks and utility classes. Just when I was starting to get a feel for CSS I see so many other ways to write my styles. Those will come eventually as well, I'm sure, but trying to keep myself calm and moving forward has become the new goal.

For others out there starting this journey too - don't panic! Everyone moves at a different pace and will find their own best way forward!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dabjazz profile image
Yash_Jaiswal

Umm... I have researched the backend stack
Python->flask/Django. Django has more preference over flask
Java->servlets JSP->spring.
Javascript->node.js or express.js
Full stack-> MERN stack or MEAN stack
Front-end-> html, css, js react or angular

Collapse
 
jouo profile image
Jashua

Most companies (specially the big ones) hire for specific roles, but if you plan to go full stack then you should stick to JavaScript, best of luck! :)