DEV Community

Cover image for Building a Blog in Haskell with Yesod–Giving Back
Riccardo Odone
Riccardo Odone

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at odone.io

Building a Blog in Haskell with Yesod–Giving Back

You can keep reading here or jump to my blog to get the full experience, including the wonderful pink, blue and white palette.


This is a series about Yesod: a Haskell web framework that follows a similar philosophy to Rails. In fact, it is strongly opinionated and provides a lot of functionality out of the box.

A good read about Yesod is available online for free: Developing web applications with Haskell and Yesod. That's why this series will be a commentary of the commits from a repo we will use to develop a super simple blog.

In other words, this won't be good material to learn how to use Yesod. However, it will hopefully give an overview of how the framework works.

Giving Back

Last week has been a very special one. First of all, I had the chance of spending time with a couple of hundred Software Crafters: the SoCraTes conference has been the highlight of my year for the last three years. Also, helping with the organization is the way I try to give back to the community.

Something else happened last week that I'm really proud of. I got my first Pull Request merged for an open source project: I'm officially a Haskell Yesod contributor!!

The inspiration came from last week's post:

Unfortunately, Yesod.Auth.Dummy does not support registration via JSON requests. Therefore, we have to patch it ourselves.

That's where I asked if a PR was of any interest to the maintainers, stared at the screen for several hours, copy / pasted some code from other parts of the codebase and submitted the new feature for review.

Special thanks to Michael, the author of Yesod, for the support and encouragement! I'm looking forward to the next Pull Request.


Get the latest content via email from me personally. Reply with your thoughts. Let's learn from each other. Subscribe to my PinkLetter!

Top comments (0)