DEV Community

Max
Max

Posted on

Free proofreading for dev.to writers

It's very hard to make a high quality blog post without at least some feedback.

Would any writers here be interested in joining a group for mutual proofreading and feedback?

Tools like Grammarly can fix our typos and grammar, but an extra pair of eyes going over the text before it is published can make the difference between an average post and a really good one.

Thoughts?

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
getaclue profile image
Alex Kluew

+1 would be down

Useful for writing : hemingwayapp.com/

Collapse
 
rimutaka profile image
Max

Alex, can I ask you give me feedback on this unpublished post?
dev.to/rimutaka/what-middle-manage...

I want to know where exactly you stopped reading it.
Happy to return the favor next time you write something!

Collapse
 
getaclue profile image
Alex Kluew

Hey Max,

Read the post and didn't stop reading it anywhere.
It is unfortunate that you had a negative experience!
Post looks good and gives some pointers about joining a company.
I would say just post it.

Cheers,
Alex

Collapse
 
lautarolobo profile image
Lautaro Lobo

Yaaas it's really cool!!

Collapse
 
canro91 profile image
Cesar Aguirre

I would really like another pair of eyes on one of my next posts

Collapse
 
rimutaka profile image
Max

Cesar, copy-paste it into a google doc with public comments enabled when ready and I'll give you my 2c worth.

Collapse
 
rimutaka profile image
Max

I don't mind putting together a basic UI to make it easy to give feedback right inside dev.to. Let's see if there are enough of us interested.

Collapse
 
thomaslombart profile image
Thomas Lombart

That's an excellent idea! I often write front-end posts on thomlom.dev. It wouldn't bother me to take some of my spare time for proofreading :)

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

I'd definitely join this group to serve as a reviewer!

Collapse
 
rimutaka profile image
Max • Edited

Peter, can I take you up on the offer? :)
dev.to/rimutaka/how-lean-canvas-sa...

Just an opinion would be good enough. Don't expect you to spend any more time than it takes to read it.

a) Scrap
b) Needs more work
c) Publish

Any suggestions or corrections are very welcome.