DEV Community

Ririio
Ririio

Posted on

Getting Telescope to work

Setting up Telescope

Setting up telescope this time around is fairly easy. Following the docs environment setup, should allow the user to be able to run at least the "front-end" of the program.

Complications

The issue I had with running telescope initially was that I was unable to gain access of the back-end of the program. I asked one of the contributors to help me work on my issue by creating a fresh telescope repository in my computer.

The set up was a lot faster this time around due to having Ubuntu and WSL2 installed in my computer. There was no issue when running the program locally this time around. The only problem was I did not install pnpm globally last time; I had to install it globally this time around as to not run to this issues.

With the program finally running locally this time around, I was excited and scrolled down. Only to find out that there are no database. I never got in touch with docker as much as I should have from the previous semester, thus making my understanding of it a bit lackluster. With the help of another contributor, this portion didn't take longer than it would have been if I was by myself.

Seeding Database

This portion confused me in a sense that what my partner told me is the opposite of what the doc shows. The doc describe that we have to "pause" the parser after we have send the command of copy and init. However, what my partner and I did is that we paused the parser before doing any of the command. It worked at the end, and the database was displayed, but I'm not sure if doing it the other way would've caused an issue.

I asked around in slack regarding this, and it seems that both ways are fine, and it doesn't cause any glaring issues in the program.

Learning Experience

I wouldn't say I had much to learn for setting up telescope, aside from learning a bit more of docker. It's hard to keep my head around having to work with a larger project, but I am working on that.

Top comments (0)