DEV Community

Cover image for My Minimal Portfolio - DigitalOcean App Platform Hackathon
Rishab Kumar
Rishab Kumar

Posted on

My Minimal Portfolio - DigitalOcean App Platform Hackathon

What I built

Minimal Portfolio Website using Gatsby

Category Submission:

Personal Site/Portfolio

App Link

https://site.rishab.cloud/

Screenshots

Alt Text

Description

So as part of this Hackathon I decided to give my portfolio a new look. I built it with Gatsby, used this starter by Konstantin Münster.
Made few changes to the actual starter, by adding particlesJS and also some other animations.

Link to Source Code

https://github.com/rishabkumar7/personalPortfolio_v5

Permissive License

MIT

Background

(What made you decide to build this particular app? What inspired you?)
After looking at some of the examples provided in the Hackathon article, I wanted to make my own portfolio look cool and minimal.
Hence, I decided to update my portfolio website.

How I built it

(How did you utilize DigitalOcean’s App Platform? Did you learn something new along the way? Pick up a new skill?)
The DO App platform was easy to setup and the site was deployed without any challenges. The platform is well documented and I was able to navigate through various options and was able to understand via the documentation what they did for the application.
As I was using a Gatsby starter theme, I wanted to customize it a bit as per my need, so learned about the file structure and how mdx renders in gatsby, also implemented particlesJS in the Gatsby site.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
ironcladdev profile image
Conner Ow

It's nice, but you can't click the links in the top header section. The canvas is on top of all those elements. Maybe use the z-index css property to change that.
Nice job, btw.
I hope you do well in the hackathon!

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Thanks for bring that up to my attention, I don't know how I missed it lmao!

Collapse
 
shaileshcodes profile image
Shailesh Vasandani

Awesome portfolio! I love the little fade-in animations as each element gets introduced and all the small touches like the hover states. The dark theme is also super nice.

Thanks for sharing!

Collapse
 
meshamakes profile image
Mesha

It's beautiful, well done !