DEV Community

Robert James Gabriel
Robert James Gabriel

Posted on • Updated on

I made a dyslexic app with over 50,000 users

alt text

I made a dyslexic app with over 50,000 users

My name is Robert James Gabriel. You can follow me on Twitter or Github. A 25-year-old software developer and I thought I would write here in kinda of a shameless plug but also a post for people to discover these apps and to spread the word that tools like these existed for people with Dyslexia. I have dyslexia myself and work on these semi-full time.

So what is OpenDyslexic Font?

"OpenDyslexic is a free typeface/font designed to mitigate some of the common reading errors caused by dyslexia. The typeface was created by Abelardo Gonzalez, who released it through an open-source license.[3][4] The design is based on that of DejaVu Sans, also an open-source font."

Helperbird

So I made helper bird https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/opendyslexic-font-helperb/ahmapmilbkfamljbpgphfndeemhnajme as a simple chrome extension that switches the font on any page to the OpenDyslexic Font. It currently has over 3,000 users.

OpenDyslexic

After a few months, I revamped the OpenDyslexic Font Chrome extension, to have the same much-requested features. https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/opendyslexic-font-for-chr/cdnapgfjopgaggbmfgbiinmmbdcglnam?hl=en. Currently has 45,000 users and peaks to 100,000 daily users during the school months.

So If you have time, try them out give feedback and let people know that these exist and could help a fellow dyslexic person out. Leaving reviews and feedback will help out a lot.

If you have any questions or feature request I would love to hear and answer them. If you want help support the costs of running these apps you can support me here https://www.paypal.me/robertjgabriel
. My personal site is here too if needed as proof https://robertgabriel.ninja/

Y

:) All love and hope you enjoy.

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
enieber profile image
Enieber Cunha

link for the plugin in firefox

addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/a...

Collapse
 
robertjgabriel profile image
Robert James Gabriel

Ah yes, It was 4am in Ireland when I posted it. Will update now

Collapse
 
rapidnerd profile image
George

As someone who has Dyslexia, thank you!

Collapse
 
robertjgabriel profile image
Robert James Gabriel

Your welcome and if you have questions please let me know.

Collapse
 
rapidnerd profile image
George

Have encountered a bug with OpenDyslexic, is there somewhere you'd like me to send it specifically?

Thread Thread
 
robertjgabriel profile image
Robert James Gabriel

Sure thing, if you want to report it here github.com/OpenDyslexic/opendyslex...

Collapse
 
mxl profile image
Maria Boldyreva

What a great job!

Collapse
 
robertjgabriel profile image
Robert James Gabriel

Thank you very much. Would love to answer any questions if you have any :)

Collapse
 
enieber profile image
Enieber Cunha

this plugin is very nice, thanks for show Open Dyslexic font.

Collapse
 
robertjgabriel profile image
Robert James Gabriel

Thank you very much. Would love to answer any questions if you have any. Or if you can think of anything to add

Collapse
 
papaponmx profile image
Jaime Rios

Brilliant, you inspire us all. Thanks.

Collapse
 
dougaws profile image
Doug

Isn't that supposed to be 000,05 users? (Sorry if it offends anyone suffering with dyslexia, aka my spouse).