DEV Community

Derrick Camerino
Derrick Camerino

Posted on

What editor/IDE are you using for Vim bindings?

I've been using MacVim for about 7 years now and have dotfiles/configs/plugins that have accumulated throughout the years. I have not been maintaining these that well so it's gotten to the point where sometimes when I open a file, I see a bunch of errors in the vim console. Also sometimes my fuzzy finder won't work correctly because it also tries to search through node_modules. I am reluctant to debug each of these issues separately and am thinking to start fresh with a new editor.

I still want to continue using vim bindings, but I'm just curious what vim binding supported editors/IDEs people are using these days. Any recommendations? Or if people are still using Vim/MacVim, any recommendations on dot files?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

If you don't mind electron based editors, I've heard that VSCode and Atom have some nice plugins to emulate vim's behavior. There is also onivim which is kinda new but very good.

Collapse
 
sudiukil profile image
Quentin Sonrel

I've used Vim for years before switching to Atom for a while... and I came back to Vim very recently, I got tired of Atom "heavyness" and I've never been able to get used to VSCode.

You can find my vimrc here, I remade it from scratch when I switched back.

Collapse
 
dmfay profile image
Dian Fay

I still use vim (or rather neovim). If you want to crib from dotfiles, here's my vimrc. I can definitely recommend denite for a fuzzy finder; it's immensely configurable, well documented, and if you set it up with ripgrep that automatically respects your .gitignore so node_modules shouldn't be a problem.

Collapse
 
teddydd profile image
Daniel Lewan

I use Kakoune It's inspired by Vim but it has different editing model.

VSCode is pretty good as well.

Collapse
 
robustdj profile image
Derrick Camerino • Edited

Cool, thanks for the suggestions everyone!

Collapse
 
tux0r profile image
tux0r

Have you tried jumping into the cold water and trying an editor with non-Vim keybindings? Maybe it will even be easier.

Collapse
 
robustdj profile image
Derrick Camerino

I have tried atom and actually use it for note taking sometimes. I do still prefer vim for coding though, as I have a few helpful macros.