DEV Community

Rotimi
Rotimi

Posted on

I made a simple blogging platform

I got tired of using the bloated blogging platforms out there. They were to rigid, slow (some of them) and didn't have a simple UI.

Therefore I made my blogging platform, QuickPublisher. Its a basic blogging platform, super fast with a minimalist design. You are now able to write those blog posts without distracting your readers with heavy designs and ads.

Currently my platform has 335 daily active users. Want to give it a spin? https://quickpublisher.online

Got any feedback? please do let me know.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
mreed4 profile image
Matthew

Nice work!

What did you write it in? Which languages?

Did you write it from scratch (other than say JS frameworks)?

Collapse
 
rotimi_je_suis profile image
Rotimi

Thank you Matthew.

I built the platform in PHP + Python (no frameworks)

Collapse
 
mreed4 profile image
Matthew

Funny you should mention Python.

I'm learning JS right now--mostly for fun, and to develop my "think like a programmer" skills.

However, I want to learn Python as well for say a data scientist type position as a career [I'm pretty "old" at thirty-something, so this would be a career change]. Its not as "fun" as the webdev type job, but it is probably far less saturated with people.

Your area of expertise is Python I suppose? Do you use it for things other than websites? In your career? Do you enjoy it? How did you break into the job? Do you have a university degree or two?

Thread Thread
 
rotimi_je_suis profile image
Rotimi

oh hell no. you're still very young man. I've got friends in their 50s learning ML. Its all uphill for you from here.

I mainly write compression engines, web apps using PHP, Python, C & C++. I really enjoy my work as it is dynamic. I wake up everyday with something new to build. That keeps me happy. I currently have two Bsc's (Computer systems & Computer science) & one Msc (Computer science with Artificial intelligence)

Side note, I'm going live on ProductHunt in an hour or so (PDT). Please leave a feedback via producthunt.com/posts/quickpublish...

Also I'm on Twitter twitter.com/rotimi_je_suis

Thanks Matthew.