DEV Community

Cover image for What would you do if you weren't a developer?
Nočnica Mellifera for RudderStack

Posted on

What would you do if you weren't a developer?

We've all thought about what we'd do instead of developing. I think I'd repair electronics. I worked on electronic test equipment when I was younger and I absolutely loved it. Looking through a microscope, analyzing faulty circuits? The best.

What would you do if you weren't working in software?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
egilhuber profile image
erica (she/her)

The road to development for me was pretty rocky and circumstantial. If I had the ability to go back in time and do things all over again, I think I'd end up going with my choice of pharmaceutical development. Still a type of development, I guess! It brought my love of chemistry and medicine together. If you would have asked me where I thought I'd be in 5 years in 2016, I would have said in a lab!

On the other hand, there's also the possibility that I would have gone the complete other direction and worked whatever job I found to support myself while focusing on creative pursuits. There's a possibility that I would have ended up learning how to code anyway on that path.

However, if I had to change my path today, I'm not sure what I'd do. I know which jobs I'd apply to in order to keep paying the bills, but as a career code just feels right.

Collapse
 
kevinhickssw profile image
Kevin Hicks

I probably would have stayed working in IT on the networking and help desk side of things. I started doing this in high school and could have probably been set with a decent job with no additional schooling just from being lucky to meet the owner of a big IT shop by chance during high school.

There is also a chance I would have went on to become a lawyer too. I always liked learning and the small details of things so I find myself often distracted reading about law and different court cases in detail.

Collapse
 
kodekrash profile image
James Linden

Farm.

Collapse
 
dev_trooper profile image
Ayola

I'd be an Accounting teacher

Collapse
 
felruivo profile image
Felipe Piacsek

I'd be a math teacher. Maybe one day...