DEV Community

Cover image for What was the last thing you mastered, that made you a faster & cleaner programmer/coder?
S3RG1096
S3RG1096

Posted on

What was the last thing you mastered, that made you a faster & cleaner programmer/coder?

The helping hands for me were the shortcuts. I had to do a lot of typing, so not only did I need to copypaste quickly, but also think of a way that would come in handy with custom coding and editing too.
It might sound weird, but an extra help for me was to use speech-to-text extensions. Of course, the syntax,like the parenthesis and dot-commas, comment dashes and dollar signs, opening and closing quotes I had to put manually.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
michaelpierre profile image
Michael Pierre

I enjoy using these simple yet very useful features in VSCode: Multi-Cursor editing, and Line Actions (Shift+Alt+DownArrow or Shift+Alt+UpArrow, Alt+UpArrow and Alt+DownArrow).

Collapse
 
s3rg1096 profile image
S3RG1096

sounds good! however, my eyes don't like tiny fonts of vscode, i use intelliJ IDEA.

Collapse
 
phlash profile image
Phil Ashby

dotnet sdk templates - waay too easy to throw up a prototype and get coding to prove an idea!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.