DEV Community

Cover image for I joined the Forem team!
Suzanne Aitchison
Suzanne Aitchison

Posted on

I joined the Forem team!

I'm delighted to say I'm starting 2021 with a new role in the Forem team as a Software Engineer where I'll be focusing all on things frontend πŸŽ‰

Why Forem?

As a career-changer into tech, the DEV community has been a huge source of support and inspiration for me on my developer journey. I really love what Forem is doing in helping create inclusive, empowered, communities, and I'm super excited to be part of that.

I'm also really looking forward to working on an open-source project and interacting with the wider community of contributors. My first forays into open-source were during Hacktoberfest 2019 (which I posted about here on DEV!), and it definitely helped broaden my experience and make some really rewarding connections.

And finally, I care deeply about accessibility and inclusion (you might already know this from my previous posts, and my side project Up Your A11y), and I'm delighted to work for an organisation that feels the same.

A little bit about me

I got into coding about 4 years ago, and in a previous life I was an English teacher overseas, and an international student support manager here in the UK. I've lived in Cambodia, Vietnam and Prague, and travelled extensively in Nigeria and Ghana. Needless to say I'm not travelling so much any more, and I'm happily settled in my home country of Scotland, living by the beach in Edinburgh.

My coding career began in Android development and then later React and the frontend, which I ended up falling in love with. I advocate for accessible web experiences, through meet-up talks and Up Your A11y. I'm also really into CSS art! Last year I completed a project creating a new piece of CSS art every day for 100 days.

Aside from coding, I love sewing and make a lot of my own clothes, I do yoga every day and like to lift weights and go on long beach walks with my dog. Roller derby is my sport of choice, and until recently I helped run and co-captain a roller derby team here in Edinburgh. I'm also a (part-time) foster carer, which has made me pretty well-versed in Marvel and Pixar movies πŸ˜‚

Top comments (18)

Collapse
 
alexlsalt profile image
Alex Morton

Congratulations, Suzanne!! I also made the switch to software engineering and have experience teaching abroad! Good luck to you!!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So awesome to have ya on the team! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
andygeorge profile image
Andy George (he/him)

πŸ”₯ welcome to the team!!!

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to the team Suzanne! πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Welcome to the team! :-)

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Welcome!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you Suzanne

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Congrats, Suzanne!

Collapse
 
coffeecraftcode profile image
Christina Gorton

Welcome Suzanne. We need to make some CSS art together!

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

Ummm... YES!

Collapse
 
krishnakakade profile image
krishna kakade

Congratulations

Collapse
 
righardtmarais profile image
Righardt

Great hope you enjoy your new position and make the best of 2021.

Collapse
 
metamoni profile image
Monica Mateiu

You forgot to add one thing: you’re also a pretty good mentor 😎

Collapse
 
annalisacoleman profile image
Annalisa Coleman

Congratulations

Collapse
 
jacobherrington profile image
Jacob Herrington (he/him)

Glad you're here! :D