DEV Community

Saifur Rehman Khan
Saifur Rehman Khan

Posted on

someone told me to write as I learn

Hello world!

so this is my first attempt to write a technical blog as recently I started two very interesting book and someone who I know who definitely has more technical knowledge told me to write about whatever you learn even no one reads it. It makes sense to me as well. Maybe I will be more consistent in my learning and maybe I will trying to understand better because I will have to explain it to the world.

Okay now let me mention few things regarding this series of blogs:

  • I'm starting two books: "Computer Systems: A Programmer's persective"(A book discuss different aspect of a computer from software to hardware to networking) and "Composing Programs"(focuses on methods for abstraction, programming paradigms, and techniques for managing the complexity of large programs)

  • I will try to write atleast one blog each week but i cannot promise if it will be consistent.

  • I might stop reading a book for some time(if i get bored) and start reading some other(and write about it) and comeback to above two again.

Before siging off, here is one interesting thing I learned today in "Computer Systems: A Programmer's persective" book about improving performance of a system:

Amdahl's law
is a formula used to find the maximum improvement of a system when only a part of it is improved.

The law is expressed as: S = 1 /((1 - P) + P / N)
Where:
S is the speedup of the system.
P is the proportion of the program that can be improved.
N is the number of processors.

If you throw some number to above formula, you would notice that even though we made a substantial improvement to a major part of the
system, our net speedup was significantly less than the speedup for
the one part.
This is the major insight of Amdahl's law β€” to significantly speed up the entire system, we must improve the speed of a very large fraction of the overall system.

Okay. That's all for today. Thank you

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

Cheers on your first technical blog postπŸ‘

I have been writing some of these for over ten years now, consciously. Inherently, software engineering requires technical writing - requirements, design, programming, documentation, etc. So, you cannot escape this writing thing.

This is about writing technical articles. Grammar, formatting and decent language are important. It is also a skill. In general, writing your own experience makes a good post. That is my experience.