DEV Community

Cover image for Why doesn't it exist?
Sakshat
Sakshat

Posted on

Why doesn't it exist?

I love python

  • The language is beginner-friendly
  • Easy to understand
  • "Just works" (but not in a bad way)
  • Requires way fewer lines of code

Python is slow

The one thing I always see tossed around about python is that it's slow.

Yes people I am aware you can make it fast, by using blocks of C code for your logic and loading them into Python or using builtin functions etc.

Alt Text

What am I looking for - Maybe Go?

A language which is simple like python but also relatively faster.
Off the top of my head, I can say GoLang looks simple, but it also requires comparatively more lines of code than python does to do stuff.

Alt Text

My question

Is there any language in the works - which provides all the pythonic features but is also relatively faster?

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Is it actually slow for your needs or people tell you it's slow :) ?
There's a huge difference there because one it's an objective problem you have to solve to accomplish a task and the other is just technically not an issue for your needs :D

Collapse
 
sakshatshinde profile image
Sakshat

The performance part is a potential issue for the project I'm working on.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Can you share any details? Maybe I can help pointing you on the right track. Skipping Python is also a possibility :)

Thread Thread
 
sakshatshinde profile image
Sakshat

Making an I/O sub-system monitoring tool

Thread Thread
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes • Edited

It's a bit lacking in specificity and requisites but probably Python isn't the best idea for systems programming. But even inotify is technically a "I/O monitoring tool" as it monitors file events, and that's usable from Python :)

Thread Thread
 
sakshatshinde profile image
Sakshat

Yep, but I'm interested to learn more about Nim

Thread Thread
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Cool :)

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

I think these are close enough:

Collapse
 
sakshatshinde profile image
Sakshat

These look super promising!

Collapse
 
titanhero profile image
Lex

BashScript?