DEV Community

Sarulatha
Sarulatha

Posted on

How to overcome Imposter Syndrome?

How I overcame my Imposter Syndrome

Literally everybody in any field has higher possibilities of falling in imposter syndrome.
From childhood we had been practised to compare ourselves with our peers to evaluate our worth.And,I am nowhere exceptional!

In school days till 12th grade I had used my computer only to play games,watching movies,surfing internet etc.Never came across the word programming.Never thought how this things work.Everything is before me but never tried to understand those.

Then college admission phase started,decided to study Engineering (I always wanted to be an engineer)but confused in choosing stream.Literally many engineers were facing unemployment and there is lot of confusion in choosing my career path and, finally,settled down with Computer Science Engineering in a Government College.

When I entered my college I realised that many students are knowledgeable and talented than me especially they had the knowledge of programming where I only heard that term there!So, here starts the self doubt and inferiority complex.

Definitely it took me a lot of struggle to overcome the inferiority complex i.e imposter syndrome.I'm sharing my experience so that even a single student benefits from me I would be so happy.

Seek help

It is very important to seek help when you feel low.Not everyone learns or knows everything before they start.You must just understand that your peers started before you started your journey.Seek help from the people whom you think or talented than you,seek help from people who are willing to help you.Ask them their journey of learning,tricks to learn and how you can help yourself.It can be your teachers,friends or family.This is will definitely boost you to atleast try the things out.

Alt Text

Stop Procrastination

I won't agree totally that procrastination is bad.Because procrastination will help you relax,may help you to focus on things better and it will give you the happiness even before you achieve something!Definitely it will boost your energy.But,it becomes bad when you just procrastinate and not doing the needs to achieve your goals.You must understand that we are greedy people who always wanted success without failure,we procrastinate in such a way that in our dream everything will work in the speculated time and scenario.

But in reality, things take time!You can never achieve success on your first attempt,things may go wrong,it can make you tired and fed up.You may start to feel low cause your reality doesn't match your dream.But the real achievement is when you are not giving up and trying even more harder so that your dream matches your reality.

tip:Your procastination must have scenarios of both success and failure.Imagine yourself has a super hero.A super hero becomes only if he faces the problem and overcomes it. Procastination becomes strength when you know to handle it in right way.

procrastination

Follow Somebody And Choose Mentor

There are many people around us who are successful in their career as a programmer.Many programmers are sharing their knowledge in many social media platforms such as youtube,instagram,telegram,face book etc.Start following someone ,start following their ideas,learn from them,gather more information.Google is your best friend.Learn how to google your problems it has solution to every problem. Everyone is around to help you,it's your capability to acquire that and use it accordingly.Join in a programming community,participate in challenges,contribute in open source projects,build your portfolio with projects,participate in meetups.

I followed many people like Tanay Pratap,Hitesh Chowdary,their footpaths and advices. I participated in jobchallenge ,100 days of code challenge to develop my skill sets.Still wanna learn more and develop myself.The main objective is that it gives me confidence,it has lowered my inferiority complex and make me to learn enthusiastically .

mentor

Competitive Coding

There are many sites such as HackerRank,leetcode,HackerEarth to enhance your competetive coding.It increases your logical thinking which is very essential for a programmer.Start from easy problems and solve one by one.Take your own time but make sure that you solve that problem.Then refer the code which is more efficient than yours.Actually you must learn to read the code written by others so that you will learn to write clean code.

Work hard

Hard work and smart work both are required to strengthen yourself.Analyse yourself you must know your strength and understand your weakness.Work hard on your strength work harder on your weakness.Work consistently and anticipate your success.

hard work

All the best guys!!This world is for everybody,work hard and build your place in this world!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
vangalanikhil profile image
nikhil

Good one, and learning about your technology everyday, so as to fill the knowledge gaps would be so helpful.

Collapse
 
sarulathadurai profile image
Sarulatha

Sure thing