DEV Community

Sathish
Sathish

Posted on

A shell script to update VS Code on Linux

I'm not quite sure about Mac users but updating VS Code in Ubuntu manually is always a pain and consumes some of my valuable time which I can use it for other things. Thus I wrote a shell script to update my VS Code just by executing it. [./😉.sh]

Find the script in this GitHubGist.

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma

On Windows 10 and Macs, it updates automatically.

Collapse
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma

Even in this release the update time was far less than what it used to be.

Collapse
 
sathish profile image
Sathish

On Linux, it'll take me to the download page. 😛

Thread Thread
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma

Actually it says, restart to update.

Thread Thread
 
sathish profile image
Sathish

Restart what?

Thread Thread
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma

the editor.

Thread Thread
 
sathish profile image
Sathish

Oops! I never noticed it. 😐

Collapse
 
ishidres profile image
Ishidres

I've created an improved script for the .tar-gz version, in case anyone is interested:
gist.github.com/Ishidres/b6133873d...

Collapse
 
abhinav profile image
Abhinav Kumar • Edited

If you installed it on Debian/Ubuntu-based systems using .deb file it will add the official Microsoft repository to your system's APT sources.

Collapse
 
itachiuchiha profile image
Itachi Uchiha

I think the title should be " A shell script to update VS Code on Ubuntu Linux".

I opened an issue about inline update on Linux distros.

github.com/Microsoft/vscode/issues...

Collapse
 
sathish profile image
Sathish

I'm not sure about other Linux distros too.

Collapse
 
tyu1996 profile image
Brian Ting

If I'm not wrong I just added the ppa and the VS Code updates automatically every time I fire up the update manager.

Using Linux Mint.