DEV Community

Sathish
Sathish

Posted on

Does a 21 days practice actually change your routine?

I have started a new routine for doing two tasks simultaneously. - Laravel & Nodejs.

I wake up early in the morning by 4:30 and take up Udemy course by Andrew and do it till 7 Am.

As of now I work remotely for a start-up. So I'll work on Laravel from 9am - 4 or 5pm.

I then resume the Node course or planned to do my other college project(Laravel) from 6 pm.

After completing the Node course which I'm half way through it. I'll swap it with a React course from Udemy.

Following this for a couple of weeks by now including Sunday for Learning alone.

Is this is a good practice?

Note : This new practice is not what I actually followed earlier.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
aarohmankad profile image
Aaroh Mankad

First off, kudos for getting up at 4:30am! (I could never do that haha.)

I think consistency is the greatest factor when learning a new skill. If you're practicing and furthering your knowledge in Node/React everyday, you will eventually become employable in those skills.

I would recommend also keeping updated on best practices and such, as Web Development especially is a constantly evolving field. (Though I think Node and React are here to stick around for a while.)

Collapse
 
sathish profile image
Sathish

I'll. Thanks for the reply. 😊

Collapse
 
andres profile image
Andrés Pérez

Congrats for starting such a journey!

Personally I can't stick to routines for long periods of time, I've been coding from 8 am to 12 pm and then 13 pm to 21 pm and I feel like I'm burning out (even if these are personal projects!).

Kudos for being able to work for so long, I wouldn't be able to do that :D

Collapse
 
aurelkurtula profile image
aurel kurtula • Edited

Few days a go I finished reading "tribe of mentors" (a book where the author asks the same 11 questions to over 100 people - very good book). One of the people interviewed (I'm bad with names) said that he does something for a month now and again. One of his months was to read everyday. a month is 31 days. After the month he said that he now reads more than he did, but not everyday

I started intermittent fasting (in May) I only eat once a day. After all these months, it's still not a habit. The first week was very hard, but mostly from "Am I doing the right thing" kind of thing. But after that week, it never got easy, I just know I do not want to eat and that's it. Like you know at 4:30 I need to start the course. It's not a habit.

I did "morning pages" for 29 days. That is, writing 3 pages of anything every morning (by hand). After 29 I decided to stop. Whilst I planned to stop to take stock of what I gained from them (a lot). The point is it wasn't a habit. your 4:30am wake time is a habit. It can be broken, it it usually takes me a week to do so. I sometimes am a night owl and sometimes a early bird. When I decided to switch, it take about a week (with the help of coffee).

Right now, I'm trying to code whilst standing up, been doing it for less than a week, I can't see it becoming a habit :)

The point is, don't leave it up to your habit, keep doing what you are doing.

Collapse
 
pchauhan13 profile image
Prashant Singh Chauhan

You can master any skill you want by consistency and discipline. Great start. Be persistent and I am sure you are going to succeed.

Collapse
 
cosmospham profile image
Cosmos Pham

What time do you go to bed?

Collapse
 
sathish profile image
Sathish • Edited

10 pm. I sleep at least 6 hours.