DEV Community

Cover image for Are you TOO OLD to start coding? Use this tool to find out!
Savvas Stephanides
Savvas Stephanides

Posted on

Are you TOO OLD to start coding? Use this tool to find out!

Coding is an exciting field, there's no doubt about that. It's an attractive field, but a lot of people are put off for one simple reason: they feel they are too old to start coding. But are you?

To help you answer this question, I have created a super simple tool called "Too Old To Code?".

To use it, just click on the link below and enter your age. The tool will immediately tell you if you're too old to code. Give it a go!

πŸ”₯ Are you Too Old to Code?

Share your results here!

Top comments (35)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Apparently, at (Number.MAX_VALUE+1) I'm too old to code :(

Collapse
 
lionelrowe profile image
lionel-rowe

Ahh, but you can never age to Number.MAX_VALUE. Once you hit Number.MAX_SAFE_INTEGER + 1, you stop aging every birthday:

const startAge = Number.MAX_SAFE_INTEGER + 1
let currentAge = startAge

const happyBirthday = () => {
    ++currentAge
}

for (let i = 0; i < 1000; ++i) {
    happyBirthday()
}

console.log(currentAge === startAge) // true
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

JavaScript invented immortality πŸ’’

Thread Thread
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

That’s just an infinite loop πŸ”

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Haha πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

That's probably a bug in the tool

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

It's a joke, the number doesn't exist in JavaScript

Thread Thread
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

I know 😬

Collapse
 
craftyminer1971 profile image
CraftyMiner1971

I thought this was a gag tool, so I tried it out. And, at 51, I'm not too old to code. But, looking at the other comments for this thread, the said even at 99 he's not too old. Thanks for the little kick up the butt. BUT, I may not be too old to code, but with me, it's not the age that's the problem. I don't have any motivation or inspiration to code anything in particular. I even put up a challenge that someone could turn my interest to coding once again. I'm still waiting! Thanks for the laugh, though.

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

I’m sure you’ll find the motivation you need. Imagine what you could create and how many people you can help just by using your mind and a few lines of weird text! πŸ”₯

Collapse
 
nikdjem profile image
Nikolai Djemerenov

I am 1 year older than you.
Everything about coding is new and difficult for me. I haven't a mentor and I make many mistakes. But I have motivation, a lot of motivation, I will never stop learning till I reach my dream to be a web developer. I start at the end of 2020 and I want to give up many times, but I am still in the game and I know that the success is round the corner . Be patient and consistent. May the pation be with you!

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

We might have a slight issue that the sun will have already exploded by then, but sure. Why not!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, love it! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Thank you Michael. Hope the result was what you were hoping 😬

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Well, I was looking for an excuse not to start, but dangit... apparently even when I'm 99, I'm still young enough! πŸ˜†

picture of Savvas' application telling me "No, at age 99, you're not too old to learn to code!"

Thread Thread
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Well it’s true! Get to it 😬

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Nice!

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Thanks, Medea! πŸ”₯

Collapse
 
ca55idy profile image
ca55idy

Guess what, no one needs this tool. The answer is no. If you're open to learning, you will learn end of

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

This is the whole point of this "tool", Cassidy. No matter what age you put in there (even something astronomical like "999999999999999999999999999999", it will still tell you that you're not too old to code. It's not actually useful tool, it's meant as a joke just to make a point πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Age has no limit when coding.

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Very true!

Collapse
 
youngdev_ profile image
Jakub

I see you are fan of console.log in production too

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

The best debugging tool in existence? Of course I’m a fan!

Collapse
 
incrementis profile image
Akin C.

Hello Savvas Stephanides,

thanks for your tool

It was amusing to use and I agree with the result(s) :D

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Glad you found out useful Akin!

Collapse
 
hyggedev profile image
Chris Hansen

πŸ˜‚ Nice one. Very good stuff her folks.

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Glad you found it useful, Chris! πŸ˜†

Collapse
 
ideadpads145 profile image
JoeB

what a joke

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Awww, thank you! This is the best compliment I've received for my tool. Means a lot.

Collapse
 
1alp1eren profile image
Alperen

It's subtle :)

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Haha πŸ˜†

Collapse
 
elayeche profile image
BELearn

Hello this is my result :
No, at age 56, you're not too old to learn to code! Enjoy!

Collapse
 
savvasstephnds profile image
Savvas Stephanides

Let's get to it then! πŸ’ͺ

Collapse
 
flkdnt profile image
Dante Foulke

Result:

No, even at age 9000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000, you're not too old to learn to code! Enjoy!