DEV Community

Cover image for Building doxshare[0]: The beginning
Shaan Alam
Shaan Alam

Posted on

Building doxshare[0]: The beginning

Greetings fellow programmers,
It's been an amazing journey since I started this project called "doxshare". I've been building for almost 2 weeks now. I thought I could complete the MVP in a week or so, but I've been busy lately.

A look back

My vision is to create something like pastebin but better. I wanted to create a pastebin alternative which lets you create and share Notion like documents. I am using T3 stack for this project since it's everything I needed combined.

Milestones achieved

User friendly and beautiful UI

I've chosen shadcn/ui to style my app. As per the docs, it's not a component library but it rather provides beautiful and customizable copy-paste components which you can use in your applications. It's built upon radix-ui and tailwind. It also provides features such as dark mode, themes etc.

shadcn-ui

Core functionalities

I've created the basic and important functionalities like authenticating the user, creating document, sharing document, document expiration. And many more functionalities are still left to be made which I'm thinking to complete as soon as possible.

doxshare

Dashboard

I've created a dasboard with a data-table in it where a user can see all the documents created.

dashboard

Future Endeavors

Document privacy 🔐

I am planning to be able to password protect the documents when user needs it. It's not mandatory but the user has the option to password protect it in-case if he wants.

Revive Expired documents 🧬

I want to be able to give the user ability to regenerate the shareable link of the expired documents, so that they could be shared again.

AI completion 🤖

WIth novel AI autocompletion feature, I'm planning to include AI feature into the app.

Collaborative Environment 👩‍💻

I am also planning to create a collaborative environment where multiple users can simultaneously edit the documents.

Conclusion

The success of "doxshare" is a result of the support from the community. I invite you to follow the GitHub repository, contribute code, report issues, or simply spread the word.

If you liked the idea for this project, feel free to give the repo a ⭐

Stay tuned for more updates and exciting announcements. Let's redefine collaboration, one document at a time!

Thank you for being part of the doxshare community.

Follow me online

X - https://twitter.com/shaancodes
Instagram - https://instagram.com/shaancodes
GitHub - https://github.com/shaan-alam

Top comments (0)