DEV Community

Cover image for Hacktoberfest 2023 - My Contribution Journey
Shruti Mishra
Shruti Mishra

Posted on

Hacktoberfest 2023 - My Contribution Journey

What is Hacktoberfest?

Each year, the tech world comes alive with Hacktoberfest, an exciting event that inspires developers to dive into open-source projects throughout the entire month of October. This year, I've enthusiastically embraced the challenge, eager to discover new skills and insights along the way.

My Hacktoberfest Experience:

I participated in Hacktoberfest by making contributions to various open-source projects on GitHub.
I made six pull requests that got merged which was more than the minimal requirement(4 PRs) to meet the Hacktoberfest requirements.

Accomplishments and Notable Moments:

The satisfaction of seeing my contributions merged into projects was a major highlight.
I improved my skills in version control, collaborating with others, and working with different programming languages.

My Learnings:

  1. I acquired an understanding of the vital role clear and effective communication plays in the context of open-source projects.
  2. Collaborative efforts and teamwork emerged as crucial elements when engaged in code-related activities with peers.
  3. Through my contributions, I developed a growing sense of confidence in my ability to make a tangible impact on real-world projects.

Conclusion:

My journey through Hacktoberfest proved to be an invaluable learning experience, and I wholeheartedly recommend fellow developers to partake in this event.
Open source embodies the spirit of giving back to the community, and Hacktoberfest serves as an ideal platform to actively contribute and be a part of this collaborative tech-fest.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Awesome stuff, Shruti!

Just a quick reminder to make sure to link to your PRs if you're hoping to score those DEV Hacktoberfest badges mentioned here.

To make sure you get the badges you deserve, please just follow these steps:

  1. Share a post that includes direct links to the GitHub PR you committed to help us verify your contributions. (You can just update this post!)
  2. Connect the GitHub account you used for Hacktoberfest to your DEV account. It's crucial for validation. (You can connect the two here in your settings!)

Do all these things and we'll be sure to give you the honored contributor badge. In any case, we'll still give you the pledge badge for writing this post up. 🙌

Thanks so much for participating in this year's event. By the way, you can refer to this post for full contributor completion instructions.