DEV Community

sidpalas
sidpalas

Posted on

DISCUSS: What was your first web app deployment experience like?

Did you deploy to one of the major cloud providers such as AWS, GCP, or Azure?

Did you use a PaaS option like Heroku?

How did it go? Any lessons learned you can share?


I recently had a chance to talk with Dylan Albertazzi, a CS student at Oregon State University, about various options for deploying the web application he has been working on!

We discussed the tradeoffs of options ranging from Heroku to DigitalOcean and how he could go about scaling the application down the road.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
harshvats2000 profile image
HARSH VATS • Edited

I recently deployed my mini project to github pages. It is a meme making app. It fetches templates from imgflip.com and then divides the whole image into grid, so you can edit it. When done, just take screenshot and share it. I know it's a bit low-level but still it feels good to have my own web app where people can make memes. :)

Collapse
 
sidpalas profile image
sidpalas

Everyone can use more memes in their life! πŸ˜‚

What's the link?

Collapse
 
harshvats2000 profile image
HARSH VATS

harshvats2000.github.io/meme-maker/
Hope you will like it. :)

Collapse
 
kretaceous profile image
Abhijit Hota

Oh man!
I recently deployed my first MEN stack app on Heroku and I was SO happy that it now can be accessed by anyone, anywhere in the world (with access to internet, of course).

It was really, really easy getting started with Heroku!

I even deployed one of my friend's Machine Learning model on Heroku using Node.js and Python. Yes! The Heroku buildpacks make it so easier!

The only problem I faced was the slug size. πŸ˜…
The sleeping apps in Heroku is a problem too but I haven't experienced any problems with it.

Collapse
 
sidpalas profile image
sidpalas • Edited

That's great! -- what is the app?

Post a link to your app so we can check it out!

Collapse
 
kretaceous profile image
Abhijit Hota

Actually, it's still in development. It lacks a frontend πŸ˜…
I've been planning to make a post here once ot was complete.

You can check it here. It's a simple app which lets you save your tasks/lists πŸ˜….

Collapse
 
rizkyrajitha profile image
Rajitha Gunathilake

it was like a year ago . i used Heroku and couldn't figured any of the errors , but after many unsuccessful attempts i finally deployed it and the feeling was priceless.

Collapse
 
sidpalas profile image
sidpalas • Edited

Getting all of the configurations can be quite an unforgiving task... just one wrong setting and 🧨πŸ’₯πŸ”₯ no app!

But that does make it extra rewarding when it finally works!

Collapse
 
rizkyrajitha profile image
Rajitha Gunathilake

totally agreed , the more challenging it is , more the reward .

Collapse
 
retronav profile image
Pranav Karawale • Edited

Pretty insane and exciting.
I am making a Firebase, Angular based module management tool for Deno. At the first days, I was a bit "don't know what I'm doing" but now I am okay with all that stuff. The learning curve was a bit steep because it was the first time I was making a GCP/Firebase based project, but now I'm confident that I can do a lot more with Firebase and GCP. While making this, I was surfing the internet, like an hour everyday to optimize my read and write requests to Firestore .
Last 3 days, I was about to quit making the app. I was using cloud functions to make a REST API so that the app will progress more easily. Just made the basic ones for authentication, and deployed it. And started ng-server on locahost. And the CORS error showed up. Day and night, I did everything, even made a CORS middeware just for the API to work but it didn't. Yesterday, I used the angular proxy as the last hope and boy, it worked. It was an experience I will never forget easily.
Will post it on GitHub soon, comment if you are intrested. (A note: fetch your firestore documents as a hot observable so that users will get the last cached value of your document and will update if the document updates. Helps a lot to save reads)