DEV Community

Sumit Singh
Sumit Singh

Posted on

How I get into Open Source?

Time takes me into Open Source, how? Now, I'm a graduate and join Infosys as a DSE Role but jounrey to open source started when I was in college in my 3rd year, In 1st year I got to know about LinkedIn where Tech people hang out, even the CEO's, HR too. I read lots of post regarding the open source like how people get good oppotunities through it or just started earning money from open source project and from clients.

Did I start in college?

No, I didn't because college has one ambition to make student enough trained so that they get placed in companies which is totally perfect and I'm thankfull I studied in such good college where I get placed in my 6th sem, but then the global pandemic started & everything went virtual lectures, meetings.

I didn't get my Offer Letter & then I started

When my final year exam completed almost in the end of July, I made my decision to learn DSA in depth, for the same I started looking for good resources, after all I land to Kunal Kushwaha channel & joined his community where he was going to start DSA course from August.
Join if you want to learn more:
Community:Classroom Community
Youtube Channel:KunalKushwaha

From Kunal's DSA course to Open Source

After joining his community I met some folks there and started to know about Open Source, how it works?, what it is?, how to start with it?, & many more things.
I was only doing DSA, leetcode but after few days some of my freinds started receiving Offer Letter, & few of them joined in August and from there I scared about my Offer Letter whether I will get or not, what if I didn't get?, what I will do next?

Scary feeling brings me totally into Open Source

When I didn't received my Offer Letter, I applied to many other companies, and keep looking for how to really start?
Then I contact my junior who was doing too good in Open Source, she won MIT hackathons, and many more. I ask her about where to start, she send me few links of Girl Script Summer of Code which was over that time but there were too many projects, I select few of them like Web Dev, DSA, and Python, I contribute in that projects.

Due to no Offer Letter, I find my passion

After keep working in few of open source projects and adding value to project by fixing typos, documentation and kept following Kunal, from there I met [Eddie](https://twitter.com/eddiejaoude) & I joined [EddieHub Community](https://www.eddiejaoude.io/?r_done=1), Eddie is really helpful, awesome creator and its good to join his community.
After one month August and mid September, having no Offer Letter helped me in exploring other communities, organisations and how to earn online, from there I landed into Hacktoberfest 2021, appwrite and MLH. I started giving my best to keep working with them, geek out with them.

This is all about my Journey, & thank you if read this. And I get my Offer Letter joining date is 18-Oct. Late is also good, received my own offer letter so late almost I'm in the last batch of this year, gives few opportunities to explore Open Source, adn how to be individual.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jimstockwell profile image
Jim Stockwell

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
akshitagupta15june profile image
AKSHITA GUPTA

Your story will really inspire the beginners!
All the best for your future endeavours ✨✨