DEV Community

Michael Brennan
Michael Brennan

Posted on

Best way to create an indexed gallery of images?

I'm a graphic designer with basic web experience, looking for a purely functional solution to this problem. Apologies if it's a no brainer for others here, but I'm curious about what creative solutions exist!

I have an always growing collection of images that I keep for posterity and inspiration, currently organized by designer/artist [lastname_firstname]. As of now, it's 150+ folders of images. Some have sub-folders. Some folders might have 5 images, others 80. I'm always gathering. It's beneficial to me in a lot of ways, and I think sharing it would be fun and help others, at the very least.

I had a web design professor awhile back introduce me to indexhibit which sounds like it fits my needs perfectly. Unfortunately, the skills and knowledge I gained in that course have grown rusty, and I started wondering if a simpler solution existed.

I'm curious if any other solutions or platforms come to mind?

My basic requirements are:
-No image cap
-Ability to tag and categorize (ex: the same album cover image can be found in the [designer's name] folder, as well as an overall [album art] folder)
-Doesn't need to look pretty. In fact, I like indexhibit for its underdesigned aesthetic.
-Bonus if I can somehow host it on my portfolio site (squarespace at the moment)

tl;dr: I'd love to have an online, shareable, indexed version of my art inspo hard drive.

Any and all advice is welcome.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

How many total files / total file size are we talking about here?

My first thought is hosting it an AWS S3 bucket and then figuring out a way to generate your "index" automatically from there.

Collapse
 
sir_mikey_rocks profile image
Michael Brennan

Currently 2,567 images totaling 1.58GB.

Never used that before! Will have to look into that, thank you!