DEV Community

Alex Romanova
Alex Romanova

Posted on

First batch of PRs

Actual first issue

I have decided to start with something simple. "good first issue". I have found such an issue - it was simply putting images where they belong. At first, however, I thought I had to remove backgrounds myself, which I definitely can and know how to do. I was happy to actually do something useful. However, it was a more brain dead task than I thought. I just had to wait till someone adds images to the issue and put those in a folder. Not really fun, nor skilled task.

I have gotten very confused in that issue just because of communication. As you might see, there were many messages in that thread. They have also apparently messed up the images they sent, so they had to fix them again o_O. Idk, it was a weird experience for a first issue, which wasn't even a challenging one.

I have tried figuring out what the project even was - it was in Astro. After some googling and reading I figured out.... I better not go deeper. It's some kind of a niche language, which may even be fun and great, but isn't used most of the time and isn't even finished. So even if I have learned it (which would be hard, considering no documentation), I wouldn't be able to transfer my skills as easily to another project, since chances are - it's not in Astro.

Because of this first issue simplicity, I have decided to find something else that's easy as well, to really make it count for something.

Art stuff!

Perhaps you have seen my post on finding interesting repos to work on. I'd rather you not, since it was on wordpress.. Anyways, there was a project my friends worked on. It's a 6 player Discord game written in C#. It's, in a way, a mafia kind of game, where nobody knows who others are, but you might be able to find out based on gameplay. Game characters are based on our friends, or simply memable people, which makes it pretty fun for us. The name - King of the garbage hill, since winning in this game only makes you that much more superior.

I always wanted to help out, considering C# wouldn't be new to me. However, simply the code amount is way over my head. I have asked my friend to give me a simple task to start with, recorded with issues so I can share it here. He got 2 for me. First - uploading images to some sort of hosting, since some of them got broken. I have uploaded them to Discord CDN, since the game is already in Discord. Second - changing size of images appearing in the messages. It was a simple one line replacement, however it helped me understand some more about the code structure.

Besides those issues I have improved on and created some new character images. It was my art originally, which I kept putting off. Well, to be fair, I have worked on some of those images, but haven't ever pushed them to the repo. Here are some pushes I've done with art improvements:

And here is some art from that game, if you were ever curious:


I'm hoping to get more into this project, now that I understand a little more.

7tv

One more project I mentioned before - 7tv. Reminder - they want to remake their Angular website into Vue. I have started on it adding some basic and small things here and there. Unfortunately, the old version of repo wasn't saved. I'm not sure myself how it works, however, I had to commit my changes before they decided to change their compiler. Perhaps that is why it wasn't saved. That change also created some drama between devs.

Now that they changed their compiler, I am going to work on re-creating pages we have in the original website. I will also try helping with design of new features and maybe adding mobile resolution layouts. There's a lot of work to do. Other devs are so fast with it >_<

Something to note is how much cooler it is to be in the dev community of a project. For example, for 7tv I was discussing all that on their Discord server. They have also added me to their ClickUp team. They use it instead of issues. It's nice to have all those tools to better see where the project's at.

Top comments (0)