DEV Community

Alex Romanova
Alex Romanova

Posted on

Week of coming back

I have been trying to follow everything again lately. Updating general project info, details here and there, meetings. I am glad to have sheriffs this week do a prioritization I wanted to have happened.

I have signed up for two main tasks for this week. I am trying to not expect much, I but also want to contribute. I know both of these things slow down others' development, so people depend on me delivering. Which sounds important, but feels draining. Either way, I want these improvements to happen, and I will try my best to do them.

About us preparation

There is an issue planned to translate the About us page into different languages. Before we can translate it though, we need a final version of the english languaged About us page. I wanted to have some corrections made, since the description of Telescope as it is right now seems outdated and unclear. We cling to the old concept of a Planet, which is true, but is no longer supported. Might as well not define ourselves with it. I still want the Planet stuff to be there as part of history, but the main part has to be rewritten. I plan have a PR ready tomorrow. I have some ideas put in currently, but my brain is too dumb to mold it into a comprehensive and coherent explanation right now.

Docusaurus landing page CSS tricks

I had an idea for a long time I wanted to explore. I wanted to play around with CSS animations, but I needed a playground. That playground came to be the new Docusaurus website that conveniently needs a landing page. I want to explore what I can do in terms of CSS animations. I have an outline of an SVG I want to make and the movement of a telescope that would follow a cursor. I don't know how difficult it is to do, but I suppose I will find out. Either way, people need a landing page and if I don't make a great one, I will at least end up making some... one.

Just these two. I look at this all, compare to my previous progress and it makes me sad. And even with these "only two" tasks, I can see how I might struggle to do even that. Hopefully, my state of being able to complete things will continue for a long enough time to make some kind of meaningful progress. There's not that much time left. I want to leave something behind. Not just something, a lot, actually.

Top comments (0)