DEV Community

sivaram
sivaram

Posted on

I built this site without a single line of custom CSS

I built this site without a single line of custom CSS

I was playing with the tailwind CSS over the weekend. I loved the way how it works. If you are not aware of what tailwind is, check it out here tailwind. It is a utility first CSS framework where you have to write a bunch of classes instead of writing CSS properties.

I have used bootstrap for most of the things I have ever done so far. But right now am afraid that I will never go back to bootstrap again :) The main problem what I faced with the bootstrap is, it was preloaded with a bunch of styles. Whenever I want to customize it I have to override their style and write my own on top of it Which I feel its inefficient way. Since I moved to tailwind I could use purgecss like plugins to remove unused CSS in the bundle which I couldn't do it with bootstrap. I am really happy with the way tailwind is going and it has radically improved the way I build a website with custom designs.
This is my first site using tailwind. Please check it out here supportexamples.com and happy to share it with you all.

Top comments (0)