DEV Community

Stanislav(Stas) Katkov
Stanislav(Stas) Katkov

Posted on

Did I waste my time 'launching' on product hunt?

I should admit, I had my project featured on Product Hunt before -- for no particular reason. It was a total hack - just a bunch of links with some text and a fancy domain (with 'digital nomads' trigger word). it was intoxicating! If only I built something serious ... right?

Two years later... I spent 2 days preparing to launch FbaCatalog on Product Hunt. I did all of it:

  • different messages for different 'mediums' -- twitter, facebook, reddit, indie hackers -- you name it
  • good enough subscriber list from fbamonthly.com
  • screenshots, description
  • "recommended" timing for a post on PH

I probably overdid it in my attempt to "make it". I didn't get featured... But something else was buzzing in my mind all this time... "Why did I launch on PH?"

There were enough reasons not to... I did my research:

  • There was very view Amazon Seller related projects on PH
  • I already tried launching https://fbamonthly.com with zero luck

All this time tt was in my face -- my target audience was not on PH. I'm probably trying to admit, that I spent two whole days stroking my ego in a right way.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

One-off launches are a bit of a crapshoot.

We really don’t truly “launch” things anymore. We sort of roll things out at whatever pace things are finished or half-finished and iterate.

Even though we’ve had some launch success here and there, we try not to be too focused on those events.

Collapse
 
skatkov profile image
Stanislav(Stas) Katkov

Thanks for sharing Ben.

This approach actually makes it much easier to iterate over software and get feedback faster.

Mentally, I'm starting to lean towards this approach too.