DEV Community

Solomon Musa Kamanga
Solomon Musa Kamanga

Posted on

I bombed a technical interview in a very epic way!

A nuclear fireball lights up the night in the United States' nuclear test Upshot-Knothole Badger on April 18, 1953.

So I just bombed a technical interview in a very epic. The interviewer was asking me about concepts I have a good grasp on but every time I opened my mouth nothing intelligible was coming out. My mind just went black. After the interview, I thought I would be down but I just couldn't stop laughing at how bad it actually went. Because it actually revealed to me how I was not prepared and I have some major knowledge gaps that I need to work on. It was not an experience I wanted but definitely one I needed to have. But at least I took notes during the interview and I know exactly what I will be focusing on in the near future.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great attitude!

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

The key to interviewing well is to go out and do a lot of interviews. After each interview, reflect and assess as to what went well and what needed work.

I'm not so good at them. I only interview when it's time to find a new job. And I often find a position where all the references I give them are all people in their company, because I am a recommendation/referral. I've been lucky, that way.

One of my friends, and former coworker, would interview regularly. Just to keep his interview skills up, and his feelers out, and his manager a little bit nervous. He's happily retired now.

The director that hired me at a previous company — after I had gotten the position and had already started there — told me my résumé was about the worst example of a résumé he'd ever seen. No pizzazz. Bland. Boring. Way too long. (I would not have done well in marketing.) On the flipside, I totally nailed the brutal interview gauntlet.

Collapse
 
attkinsonjakob profile image
Jakob Attkinson

The key to interviewing well is to go out and do a lot of interviews. After each interview, reflect and assess as to what went well and what needed work.

This is a great advice. Here's my persona experience and why I believe so.
I worked for 4 years as part of a "2 developers team" and both of us worked together on both developing an API and developing the FE for it. We split the responsability quite equally so I'd say I have experience in both building an API and a FE profesionally - and there's something to show for that.

I recently went to an interview in 4 stages. I aced the technical questions and the practical coding challenge. But I miserably failed the last stage, "free discussion".

I reached out to the interviewer one week after, asking for some feedback. He replied to me that he loved me, he would have really like to hire me, but he feels like he needs someone that has some experience with a front-end as well, not just the back-end.

This was initially a very WTF moment. Like, i am literally THE MAN for the job. I have that. Yet, after 4 interviewers of 45-60 minutes each, he didn't get the impression that I ever worked on a front-end....

I didn't lack the skills or the attitude for the job, I just lacked in conveying my experience to the interviewer and this is something I can only improve on after reflecting on it...

Collapse
 
solomonkamanga profile image
Solomon Musa Kamanga

That's definitely something else I need to get better at...being able to convey my experience the right way. Thanks for the tip Jakob!

Collapse
 
solomonkamanga profile image
Solomon Musa Kamanga

Thanks for the advice Eljay! 👍🏿

Collapse
 
neka profile image
Neka

Hey 👋🏻

Bravo for your positivity ! 👏🏻
It's important not to get depressed when you miss something, it's an experience that will make you stronger next time ! 🦾

⎯ Nekå🌸

Collapse
 
solomonkamanga profile image
Solomon Musa Kamanga

Thanks Nekå! 😁