DEV Community

Cover image for The first time I printed "Hello, world!"
Cishahayo Songa Achille
Cishahayo Songa Achille

Posted on

The first time I printed "Hello, world!"

It was 2017, when I started using a computer for the first time in my life. That was the first time I found out what is internet and how it works. And the only website I knew was Google, lol.

"HOW DID PEOPLE MAKE GOOGLE?", I used to ask myself this always.

My curiosity started then. I had no computer, no smartphone, I was just there. I only accessed computer using my school computers. It was also too hard because there was many students who needed to use the computers as I was doing. I used to go there in computer lab, and sat looking at other people watching videos on YouTube, doing their stuffs on Facebook, and I could not believe my eyes, because before that I didn't know any of that websites or even what website was.

And after a few days, I started using the computer myself, by looking at how others are doing, I could also navigate the internet and type in some keywords in Google and click "Enter". This is when my life changed in a way that I could not even remember who I was.

After a few days, I started searching, "How can I make my own website?" And that day, I printed my first "Hello, World!" I was like, "Wow, now I can make a website myself," with a big smile on my face "I can even make Google."

<html>
<head>
<title>My Website</title>
</head>
<body>
      <p>Hello, World!</p>
</body>
</html>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

So funny, right? I thought so.

I started teaching myself about the web development using HTML and CSS. It was going so smooth and after a few days, one month, I was fluent with HTML and I could make a simple HTML static websites.

I didn't know about JavaScript or PHP, I thought I had learnt it all. I let my guard down, and I passed more than one year without doing anything else.

In 2020, I started again, I became a JavaScript developer, and now I use React JS, Node JS, React Native and PostgreSQL. Today, I was sharing my beginning journey, how I learnt JavaScript will be a story for next time.

Let me know what you think in the comment and share this article. I hope my story can help anyone else who is want to code. If you need any help, text me on Twitter @achille_songa or check out my Github at @songa1 to checkout my projects so far.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ahmedqasem4 profile image
AhmedQasem4

i think printing Hello World! is one of the most moments that each programmer thought that he is an iron man lol!

i remember that when i cout this word i make another cout and write " Hello c++ i'm ahmed kassem i will come soon and change the world " and this is so looool! but it was a good moment

Collapse
 
songa1 profile image
Cishahayo Songa Achille

I can relate to that. Even still now, it's a big achievement πŸ’ͺ🏾 while learning a new language.πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
ahmedqasem4 profile image
AhmedQasem4

Yes of course πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚