DEV Community

sourabh1111111
sourabh1111111

Posted on • Updated on

Hacktoberfest 2023

Image description

I'm Sourabh Sharma, and I'm excited to share my journey during my first Hacktoberfest! I've been an active member of the GitHub community since the end of August, and this festival has been an incredible learning experience for me.
This month has been a rollercoaster of learning and growth. I was at home after a frustrating semester, and I suddenly found myself with a lot of free time. It was during this time that I randomly opened my GitHub profile and decided to make some changes. I made around 4 contributions, which included forking repositories, creating issues, and sending pull requests.
It was my first time doing these things, and I must admit, it felt a bit overwhelming at first. But I quickly fell in love with the process. I'm eager to explore more and work even harder.

'm grateful for this incredible experience, and I look forward to more opportunities to learn and grow as a developer. These small steps are just the beginning of an exciting journey.
First pull request:https://github.com/toufique-hossain/Startupidea/pull/8
Second pull request:https://github.com/DecodersCommunity/HeroPedia/pull/17
Third pull request:https://github.com/parag477/Amazing-Webdev-Components/pull/73
Fourth pull request:https://github.com/Prashant0664/hacktoberfest2023/pull/5

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awesome stuff!

Just a quick reminder to make sure to link to your PRs if you're hoping to score those DEV Hacktoberfest badges mentioned here.

To make sure you get the badges you deserve, please just follow these steps:

  1. Share a post that includes direct links to the GitHub PR you committed to help us verify your contributions. (You can just update this post!)
  2. Connect the GitHub account you used for Hacktoberfest to your DEV account. It's crucial for validation. (You can connect the two here in your settings!)

Do all these things and we'll be sure to give you the honored contributor badge. In any case, we'll still give you the pledge badge for writing this post up. 🙌

Thanks so much for participating in this year's event. By the way, you can refer to this post for full contributor completion instructions.

Collapse
 
inushin profile image
Inushin

Could you share all the process and projects? I would like to start contributing but I do not find the way that fits with me 🤔🤔

Collapse
 
sourabh1111111 profile image
sourabh1111111

Process:
1.Create a GitHub account.
2.register to hacktober 2023 official website and authorise your GitHub account .
hacktober official link: hacktoberfest.com/
3.Search for projects with "hacktober-accepted" and "hacktober-2023" tags on GitHub and Look through the list of repositories and select one that aligns with your interests and the technologies you are familiar with. This will make it easier for you to contribute effectively.
4.Fork a project you're interested in.
5.Clone it to your local machine using GitHub Desktop.
6.Find an issue in the project to work on.
7.Make your contribution, following project guidelines.
8.Commit, push, and create a Pull Request (PR) on GitHub.
Once approved, your contribution will be merged into the project.

  1. Track your progress on hacktober official web page. projects:
  2. It can vary from one project to another or tech to tech so search according to your skills . Good luck! 🚀🌟.
Collapse
 
inushin profile image
Inushin

I meant the proccess you followed, which project you choose, why, how you found how to contribute and that kind of stuff. The general proccess I have read it multiple times, just asked for something more... personal, more... "bloggy" thing. At least that was what I was looking for when I found Dev.to XD

Thread Thread
 
sourabh1111111 profile image
sourabh1111111

Go on hacktober-2023 official webpage all given details are very easy. even in my beginning they helped me a lot . just go and register and authorize your github account . and do not worry you have to merge only four pull request and try to choose project that you find suitable according to tech and have mentioned tag I get it just by exploring a little bit more.
In the worst case scenario, out of the 7 pull requests 3 may not get merged , you still have four . and the basic thing is that I am beginner ,I try to explore and get idea.

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Way to go!! 🥳 🥳

Collapse
 
sourabh1111111 profile image
sourabh1111111

Thank you, and best wishes to you! 🌟😊