DEV Community

Silvestar Bistrović
Silvestar Bistrović

Posted on

Is there any frontend job that doesn't require React these days?

I am going through some job sites in search of a possible new opportunity. I noticed that almost every frontend-related job requires React. Does everyone use React these days? Or is it just some kind of filter for companies?

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
sunflower profile image
sunflowerseed

I thought I saw the NPM install comparison and React outnumber Angular or Vue by a factor of 4 times or more:

react compared to angular or vue

Collapse
 
starbist profile image
Silvestar Bistrović • Edited

I would be interested to learn how React is used. My opinion is that it is just a hype and it should not be used on most of the websites.
I would consider using it for a web application, but that is an entirely different area.

Collapse
 
rockykev profile image
Rocky Kev

Great question and I'm excited to share my experience. I live in a city that isn't a major tech hub. I did a crazy amount of interviews in the past few months.

HOLY COW -- I was blown away with how many NON-react companies there are. Most companies were either on Ruby-on-Rails, Laravel, Django, or .Net... and they used Vue for front-end. It was insane. In fact, my one friend and I (we're both React developers) frequently look at each other whenever we meet someone new who knows more Vue than React.

Only two companies I interviewed asked about experience in React, but then asked me Javascript questions.

Collapse
 
giorgosk profile image
Giorgos Kontopoulos 👀

Most job posting / proposal that come my way mention react but they usually say React / Vue or similar frontend framework (or something to that extent). So you can probably get away if you know something else instead.

Collapse
 
guledali profile image
guledali

Yeah I have noticed this to lately, I never seen anything like it.

Collapse
 
garzo profile image
Dave MG • Edited
<sarc>
React is to Front-End jobs what Kubernetes is to DevOps jobs.
</sarc>
Collapse
 
starbist profile image
Silvestar Bistrović

The only difference is I could understand React, as opposed to Kubernetes. 😂

Collapse
 
1alishahid1 profile image
AliShahid

Most of them want react b/c every else is following the trend while posting a job.

Collapse
 
mkubdev profile image
Maxime Kubik

Of course buddy... Just don't apply for web agency or something similar... As a software developer, my job is to make working c/c++ app on the Web with WebAssembly ASM

Collapse
 
mkubdev profile image
Maxime Kubik

And i need to make a lot of frontend. My favorite tool is Angular :)