DEV Community

Nora Del Rosario
Nora Del Rosario

Posted on

Experienced developers, how do you go about learning new frameworks?

For developers who are already familiar with frameworks (particularly web frameworks here), how do you go about learning new frameworks? I'm finding tutorials repeat a lot of information I know about already.

I'm running through a Rails tutorial, and there are a lot of sections on topics I am already very familiar with. I don't need a 10 minute introduction on relational databases when I've worked with them for nearly 2 years.

Do you guys have any tips?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
neverendingqs profile image
Mark Tse

I scan through some readings and/or watch tutorials at 2x speed. I then try to build something useful.

For Vue, because I already knew React, I went through a simple example and then actually built something, Googling interesting problems I encountered along the way.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker • Edited

One thing that i've tried before is solve a problem or build something i already know by heart. For example the TodoMVC, i'm sure everyone is sick of tutorials that use a todo app, but it is a really good exercise when you do it on your own, because you already know the solution to the problem, you just need to implemented with the framework you're trying to learn.

When trying to learn redux i created my own implementation and used it in a todo app (i also used lit-html just to keep things interesting). When finished i learned a lot a about redux, redux-thunk and lit-html.


EDIT:

I remembered another example. So, i use cmus as my music player, it is so "lightweight" that it doesn't have an option to display desktop notification when a song starts playing. When trying to learn about Rust i made this thing as an exercise.