DEV Community

Luciano Strika
Luciano Strika

Posted on

What is the one tip you would give to new bloggers out there?

I've been blogging for about a year now, and feel like I've learned a lot of things in this time, even though I'm nowhere near as experienced as those big-time guys I see on social networks.

The few things I'd say to a newcomer are:

  • Make a plan and stick to it: posting consistently over a long period of time is better than making bursts of content every once in a while (I wish I had the discipline to follow this advice, it really pays off).

  • Focus on promoting your content almost as much as you focus on writing it. At least if you really care about it reaching a big audience.

  • Don't spend too much time focusing on improving your site speed. As developers, I think we have a tendency to want to optimize every last inch of website performance. I know I do. And I've spent countless hours, enough to write like five good quality articles, just optimizing those last points in Google PageSpeed, or those few points in GTMetrix. My advice? Get a few plugins to do the job for you, get to like 90 or 95 pagespeed and then just focus on content.
    I wish I'd known that from the start.

By the way, if you're using WordPress, the PageSpeed Ninja plugin was a gamechanger for me. It's a lot better than Autoptimize, which is what Google suggested to me most of the time.

So what about you? Bloggers of the tech world, lords of the web, which pearls of wisdom do you think every other blogger should receive?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
mujeebishaque profile image
Mujeeb Ishaque

I am not a blogger, just wanted to tell you that you write good stuff.

Collapse
 
strikingloo profile image
Luciano Strika

Thanks, man!