DEV Community

Cover image for Nevertheless, Diana Coded
Super Diana
Super Diana

Posted on

Nevertheless, Diana Coded

Where do I begin?…

My background isn’t conventional. I grew up with an amazing family of nerds who bought programming, computer, and gaming magazines. Those were the magazines I scribbled and drew on whenever I got hold of marker pens.

My mother worked in a corporate computer supplier and she often brought “samplers” back home. The day she brought a new Commodore-64, my life changed forever. Copying game codes from magazines wasn’t a hassle for me, I found it fascinating and cathartic at the same time. I was 6 years old. With time, she saw my interest and taught me the basic things that made a difference: basic, assembler, and then Python. With time it became a normal thing and part of my conversations. I was lucky to find supportive classmates in school. I will always be grateful for the support I got from my parents.

I started “formally” coding at the age of 14 and grew up with much interest and work on infrastructure and backend. Throughout my entire career, I saw the good and the ugly in terms of diversity and inclusion, so I decided to take action and work with my environment, later with communities and worked(still working!) hard to get as far as I could, and help others. I wanted to be part of the solution. I wanted to help open programming gates to women and underrepresented communities.

The Biggest Challenge I Faced Was…

… At 18 years old. My first data centre job. Walked in ready to assemble racks and do the networking side of the operation. I was mocked and mistaken for a lost marketing intern. Then the men present assumed I was there to bring them refreshments and their tools. I had to prove not only that I was perfectly fit for the job but also prove my knowledge and I was often ridiculed or ignored for being too young… and a woman. This fueled my desire to overcome those barriers and help pave the way for others, at least wherever I went.

The Most Rewarding Thing This Year…

Getting my dream job. I am super happy to be in charge of the Nexmo Python SDK. This job combines my passions: Python and public speaking/writing content. Never have I felt so welcomed and so supported. I am definitely looking forward to what’s coming this year!!

My Message for Others…

You are awesome. We are all different and diversity is what keeps the world rocking! , Bbe yourself, celebrate, praise yourself and help others as you grow!

And like Brian May sings in “Good Company” :

“Take care of those you call your own and keep good company.”

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

"You are awesome. We are all different and diversity is what keeps the world rocking! Be yourself, celebrate, praise yourself and help others as you grow!"

Love this! 💜

And to end on a Brian May quote — that's just awesome! 🎸