DEV Community

Cover image for My Takeaways from Still Writing...
Syed Umair Ali
Syed Umair Ali

Posted on

My Takeaways from Still Writing...

Whenever we think that we have conquered all hurdles and challenges and can enjoy some peace and quiet, that's exactly the time that life throws a curve ball and we begin the process again, facing new hurdles and challenges as life continues to go on.

I, like Ralph Waldo Emerson write in my journal about myself, but in fact I'm writing about the universe as it passes through me and all the things and other people that I interact with...

The state where a human reaches their peak productivity is known as the "Flow state", this state can be like a wast ocean of power waves, these waves can be turned into hydro power for yourself so that you can become the best version of yourself or you can drown in them if you're not care enough.

I always thought that only I talk to myself but I realized that everyone does, each one of us has an inner censor, a critic that judges each and every action that we do or don't. This inner critic is a frenemy, it can sometimes guide towards right choices but mostly it works to make you feel miserable about your self.

The flow state is the natural kryptonite of your inner critic, the more productive you are and the more you feel good about yourself the more you'll be able to silence your inner critic.

In order to grow a tree you need a tiny seed, that's the same for your skills and abilities as well. Start small, learn the basics and then practice until you're confident in yourself and then practice some more.

The place where you work should be adopted to the way that suits you best and not the other way around. Some people work in solitude, some work during commute, and some in public cafes. Whatever the place may be, it should feel comfortable to you.

Whenever you start a new venture, it is divided into three parts, the beginning where everything is great, the middle where shit really gets tough and you need to step out of the comfort zone, the middle parts challenge us to find our inner strengths and test us. The ending is where the true beauty lies, where you learn a lot of lessons and learn why you had to learn them.


Top comments (0)