DEV Community

Gabor Szabo
Gabor Szabo

Posted on • Updated on

My Scratchpad on DEV

I wish DEV had a scratchpad for items I am working on and items I'd like to keep in mind. Is there is one?

The "Currently hacking on" entry in the settings could be something like that, but that's too small and the concept of the scratchpad is broader than that. It also includes ideas that one day I might address. Or not. But I am not hacking on them any time soon.

So far I used a draft for this, but seeing the yellow draft sign in the dashboard disturbs me. Besides that, I'd like to make some of the public.

So I am going to do this here, in this post and I'll update it later.

Bugs and Feature-request in Forem (the platform used by DEV)

  • Scratchpad: Allow the users to have a Public and a Private scratchpad easily accessible from the menu that opens when clicking on the profile picture. The Scratchpad should support Markdown. They can be used to write down ideas for blog posts or feature requests, notes that later will be turned into issues on GitHub. I opened a discussion on Public and Private Scratchpad (notes, notebook)

  • Infinite scrolling and footer

  • Prev and Next buttons for series

  • Add comma after each 3 digits to the numbers on the tags page to make them more readable.

  • Search without accent marks: My name, when written properly is Gábor Szabó. It includes two characters with Hungarian "accent-marks". However if I write my name that way in the settings then the search for Gabor Szabo among the users does not find me. So for now I removed the accent marks, but I think it would be important to match this. It seems that if I search for Gabor Szabo among the articles it can find entries with Gábor Szabó as well.

Analytics

  • Analytics: It would help if from the Analytics page I could jump to see the graphs about individual post.
  • Analytics: It would help to be able to see the data for all the articles in a single series. It would be useful to be able to compare two series.
  • Analytics: As I understand the number of new followers is just what happened in the given time period. I'd like to know which article and which series brought in more new followers.
  • Analytics: Show when did the "day" start (what time-zone are the graphs in? Is it that of the reader? UTC?)
  • Analytics: how often is it updated? When was it updated last time? When will it be updated next time?

Dashboard

SPAM filtering

In the last few days I've done some spam reporting. I encountered 10s of spam posts. Some were on the site for 10-11 hours. Some for more than a week. So I opened a discussion about spam filtering

API

This endpoint is part of the V0 (beta) API. #18782

Using the following Python code:

import requests

url = 'https://dev.to/api/articles'
res = requests.get(url, headers = {'Accept': 'application/vnd.forem.api-v1+json'})

print(res.headers)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I get:

{'Connection': 'keep-alive', 'Content-Length': '11027', 'Server': 'Cowboy', 'X-Frame-Options': 'SAMEORIGIN', 'X-Xss-Protection': '0', 'X-Content-Type-Options': 'nosniff', 'X-Download-Options': 'noopen', 'X-Permitted-Cross-Domain-Policies': 'none', 'Referrer-Policy': 'strict-origin-when-cross-origin', 'Cache-Control': 'public, no-cache', 'X-Accel-Expires': '86400', 'Content-Type': 'application/json; charset=utf-8', 'Warning': '299 - This endpoint is part of the V0 (beta) API. To start using the V1 endpoints add the `Accept` header and set it to `application/vnd.forem.api-v1+json`. Visit https://developers.forem.com/api for more information.', 'Content-Encoding': 'gzip', 'Etag': 'W/"c2cbc2f9107b10a161a149f73a980baa"', 'Content-Security-Policy': '', 'X-Request-Id': 'fb7aa4ad-741b-41db-b180-17a8816c3ad8', 'X-Runtime': '0.120087', 'Via': '1.1 vegur, 1.1 varnish, 1.1 varnish', 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin': '*', 'Accept-Ranges': 'bytes', 'Date': 'Fri, 25 Nov 2022 22:00:25 GMT', 'Age': '5', 'X-Served-By': 'cache-den8283-DEN, cache-hhn4063-HHN', 'X-Cache': 'HIT, MISS', 'X-Cache-Hits': '1, 0', 'X-Timer': 'S1669413625.468910,VS0,VE138', 'Vary': 'Accept-Encoding, Origin, X-Loggedin', 'Strict-Transport-Security': 'max-age=31557600'}

As far as I can tell I've correctly set the header but this response still tells me I use V0 and tells me what to do. (That I've done)

If I was to fetch the response using res.json() it seems the data is there, but I don't understand the warning.

Am I doing something wrong or is this a bug?

  • rate-limit (in eamil)

Top comments (0)