DEV Community

Mikołaj Wawrzyniak
Mikołaj Wawrzyniak

Posted on

Learning from backend to full stack dev

Hi fellow devs!

I've been working as RoR developer since couple of years now. Recently I've decided to widen my skills with some frontend knowledge.

Since then I'm looking around web, to find best jump start resources for person with my type of background. Beside strong backend and programming knowledge. I'm also familiar with fairly basics of javascript, html, and css (but all of this is surely heavily outdated and unorganized). I want to follow current frontend roadmap. Could You suggest any books and courses which are worth of interesting in?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jandev profile image
Jan

If you wanted to learn React. I guess this one is very good. I believe you can get it also for free
roadtoreact.com/. And for improving JS alone eloquentjavascript.net/ though I haven't read those two yet. I think it'll help you improve you Js skills.

Collapse
 
edwinthinks profile image
Edwin Mak

Also on the React side of things. I think testingjavascript.com/ is a great course for learning how to build robust tested frontend applications. Generally the path is to usually learn the framework first and then test practices, but I think it is worth while to dive into the testing earlier on.

:) Good luck!