DEV Community

Thanh Van
Thanh Van

Posted on

New feature for Static-Site-Generator in Javascript

This week I have to practice using git remotes and merges to collaborate with some code changes. And I found a new partner for this lab, he is Luigi and we found each other thanks to Slack.

First of all, I head into his repo and create another issue telling him what I am going to improve his code. This new feature would allow the ability to use a configuration file within the SSG to allow users specifying the config file instead of typing a long argument. Once he assigns me to the issue, I start to do my work as soon as possible. To be honest, the way he writes his code is completely different from my logic, so it is quite hard for me to understand what is going on inside there. It took me a few hours completing my task. One thing I noticed in his code was that he declared the type for parameter separately, which I should practice how to do this inside my future code. Then I sent him a pull request, we had a conversation to discuss about how we can fix the code and he could merge my code into his branch.

After he is done his task with my code and send me a pull request, I reviewed it and pulled his code into my machine, I was kind of surprised because a new logic was applied into my code and there were so much things for me to learn. Reviewing a Pull Request by fetching to my local machine is way effective than checking it on Github. Once I satisfy with the new feature, I merge his work to my main branch.

Top comments (0)