DEV Community

Cover image for 6 Super Useful Menubar Apps For MacOS
Rohith Gilla for XenoX

Posted on

6 Super Useful Menubar Apps For MacOS

Hey everyone! In this post let's breeze ❄️ through some of my most used and favourite, free menu bar applications for Mac.

  • Tick Tick
  • Flow
  • Itsycal
  • Clipy
  • Amphetamine
  • Clocker

Alt Text

Let's go through them in brief.

1. Tick Tick

Tick Tick
It's my goto productivity handler. The best part is that its UI and functionality is simple yet stunning. It has lists where we can add our to do tasks.

It's better to treat these lists as projects for example, and you can add tasks in each project.

Another really good feature of this application is the notification system and synchronisation between devices. Tasks get synced between my Mac, iPad and iPhone seamlessly. Notification support is also great.

👉🏼Link

In a world to do list apps like Any do, todoist, Microsoft tasks, my favourite is Tick Tick.

P.S: I can go on and on about Tick tick. It's amazing enough to have a seperate blog post.

2. Flow

How many of you follow Pomodoro Technique?

My experience with this app has been really nice. When I started searching, there were so many pomo timer apps around, I was confused where to start. I started using a few and then finally stumbled upon Flow.

It's an amazing productivity hack if you are a productivity freak like me. It's extremely customisable. You can blacklist applications, set the flow time, break time and lots of other things.

Flow 1
Flow 2

This application is available on the App Store.

👉🏼Link

3. Itsycal

I often wonder why apple never put a calendar in the menubar. And that's where Itsycal comes in. It's a sweet little widget which shows you the calendar & events and synchronises with your Calender application in Mac to stay updated.

I honestly consider a Calendar to be one of the most important things that should be on the menubar. Ubuntu and Windows, both offer a calender. For me personally, this feature comes very handy. Whenever I am on call or scheduling a meeting, I simply click on the menubar icon to see the calender.

Alt Text

👉🏼Link

4. Clipy

Have you ever used clipboard managers? If not, it's high time you use one. Trust me you'd love it.

Before I was aware of clipboard managers, I used to sob everytime I had multiple things to copy or wanted previously copied text on copy ring. That is when I came across Clipy. Clipy is an amazing clipboard manager for Mac which solved most of my problems mentioned earlier.

Alt Text

👉🏼Link

5. Amphetamine

Have you ever been in that situation where your Mac has to be turned on for some download to finish ?

Have you waited in front of it like me and keep moving the cursor as soon as the screen dims down.

Amphetamine helps a lot in this situation.

It's an awesome keep-awake app created for MacOS. Amphetamine can keep your Mac, and optionally its display(s), awake through a very simple on/off switch, or automatically through easy-to-configure Triggers. Amphetamine is extremely powerful and includes advanced features for the power users, yet remains intuitive and easy-to-use for those who don't need all of the bells and whistles.

Amp

👉🏼Link

6. Clocker

This is an amazing app which saved me so many times. When I was offering my services to ChatLeap, it was very useful. The company runs on Israel time, so managing meetings and deadlines used to get confusing for me quite often. But once I got this app, I never missed a meeting again.

Clocker is designed to help you keep track of your friends and colleagues in different time zones.

Alt Text

👉🏼Link

There are many other applications like RDM, Proton VPN, NTFS for Mac etc., but the ones in this list are the most popular.

Alt Text

What are your favorite menubar apps for MacOS? Tell me about them here!

Peace ✌🏼,

Rohith Gilla


P.S.

If you're passionate about open-source development and looking to contribute to exciting open-source projects, Team XenoX might just be your calling. We're always working on something cool. So I'd love for you to join us! Check out our work at XenoX Multiverse! 🔥

Write for XenoX!

Team XenoX is also looking to add more authors to our publication. If you like writing and have some creative ideas you'd like to share, we'd love to have you! 💯 Your blog posts will gain a lot more eyeballs. 👀 You'll get a chance to win some cool swag. And hey, you also get expert consultation and free proofing/editing from our best. 😉😎

Write for XenoX GIF

If you want to apply, just go here and enter your details:
https://forms.clickup.com/f/1rz92-3351/VMFE0Q81LI7E0A92Z0

Join our Telegram Channel!

We share the best resources, articles, and other cool stuff for devs from across the internet on our Telegram channel! Join the party! 👉🏼 Link

Dev Telegram channel unofficial gif

Top comments (26)

Collapse
 
yougotwill profile image
Will G

As an alternative to Flow I can recommend Just Focus it's a simpler variation. I also recommend Maccy which is a great clipboard manager! It's actively being developed while I believe Clipy hasn't been updated in a while.

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Thanks for the suggestions.
The link you gave for Just Focus is for iPhone and iPad, is there mac app for the same?

Collapse
 
yougotwill profile image
Will G • Edited

Whoops! I used the wrong link. I haven't really used the iOS app. Check out the mac link here apps.apple.com/us/app/just-focus/i...

Thread Thread
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Thanks 🙌

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

BitBar is fantastic. Allows you to very easily make your own MenuBar apps to do whatever you want. A clone called Argos is also available for Linux

Collapse
 
yougotwill profile image
Will G

Bitbar is awesome! It's also the only decent way to control cmus outside of the terminal on mac

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️ • Edited

My latest creation...

COVID19 BitBar

The two next to this one are BitBar too - a crypto price tracker, and a PM2.5 pollution count for the local area

Thread Thread
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Wow that’s crazyy 🙌

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla • Edited

Awesome I heard a lot about this, I will definitely give it a try.
Thanks

Collapse
 
muchwowdodge profile image
Anton Rhein

Another nice calendar menu bar App is Dato.
For Lists and Projects I use Things 3, though you have to pay it. It lets you organize Todos within 3 nesting levels. You can create recurring todos, add shopping lists like lists to a todo and also add Tags to any todo. Very nice.

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Wow awesome I’ll definitely give it a try

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

I've heard praise for Things 3 as well!

Collapse
 
elanandkumar profile image
Anand Kumar

Very nice.
I use some of them already. I wasn’t aware of clocker. Looks quite useful and will give it a try.
I use this one too which helps me to hide items from the menubar. Hope it helps someone.

github.com/Mortennn/Dozer

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Thanks, there is a similar app to that of Dozer. It is Bartender. But it's paid.
Thanks for the Dozer.

Collapse
 
elanandkumar profile image
Anand Kumar

Yes. But it is paid so I prefer to use dozer being open source.

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

Talking about OSX menu bar apps: Apptivate and uBar for me!

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Wow, sure I would definitely try them. Thanks for the suggestions.

Collapse
 
elanandkumar profile image
Anand Kumar

I just tried to download clocker but link given takes me to the amphetamine. Could you please fix this. Thanks.

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Thank you so much for pointing it out.
It is fixed now.

Collapse
 
elanandkumar profile image
Anand Kumar

Great. Thanks.

Collapse
 
chrispardy profile image
chris-pardy

Came to plug iStatMenus. A coworky turned me on to it 5 years ago and I've never looked back. It's paid but you get calendar, world clock, cpu/mem/network monitoring, battery health checks etc.

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Amazing.

Collapse
 
kvanrooyen profile image
Keagan Van Rooyen

Great post! I have been looking for a clipboard manager to use on Mac, I will definitely be trying out clipy.

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Thanks a lot, definitely try out clipy it’s really nice.

Collapse
 
joshpuetz profile image
Josh Puetz • Edited

This is a great list! Let me follow up with my own recommendation: Bartender (macbartender.com). It's a utility that lets you collapse all those menubar icons into a submenu!

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Awesome thanks.
I have mentioned about Bartender in one of the comments, but I guess it’s a paid product 😅