DEV Community

Cover image for My journey to being a certified data engineer! What steps am i taking?
Tech_girl254
Tech_girl254

Posted on

My journey to being a certified data engineer! What steps am i taking?

So some of the goals am looking forward to achieving this year include expanding my skills and becoming a certified azure data Engineer.
With the Mentorship i am getting from the people around me i think that i am finally ready.

Professionally i am a Snr ERP engineer. We deal with a lot of data on a large scale, and it is one of my passions to be able to process and learn from my data and tell stories that lie herein.

I am going to take you trough my journey on what skills i have achieved so far and how. Please feel free to share what you have on your side too.

What is a Data Engineer

A data engineer is an individual who develops systems that are able to power machine learning and AI analytics

What are some of your Roles

Some of your roles will include creating processes that will automate -data acquisition ,Transformation
data transformation, data migration, data verification, data modeling, and data mining---Define each

Programming languages and Learning process

Personally i use python, i have attended a few boot camps and read about the theoretical .However ,it is obvious that if you don't practice your skills you can easily forget what you have learnt in the long run. Personally i have made this mistake in the past but it is not too late.

Certifications

I intend to achieve the Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Engineer Associate.To achieve this i have to do two exams:-DP 200 Implementing Azure Data Solution and DP 201 Designing an Azure Data Solution.

The skills measured include;

*Implement data storage solutions
*Manage and develop data processing
*Monitor and optimize data solutions
*Design Azure data storage solutions
*Design data processing solutions
*Design for data security and compliance
I am using Microsoft Learn as my learning path Link

After..

Finish building my portfolio on GitHub.(Will do an article on this too)
Write blogs about data science; create a medium article and finally earn trough my articles.

Please feel free to share what you have on your side too or your thoughts .
Thank you!!!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
shivanshisrivastava profile image
Shivanshi Srivastava

Hi, I am also planning to do the same should I only focus on Learning path also I am interested in the implementations of ELT, etc how can progress there?