DEV Community

Ankit Kumar
Ankit Kumar

Posted on

I want to make a mobile app for Dev.to

Please let me any documents on APIs.
Suggestions are invited.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
vinceramces profile image
Vince Ramces Oliveros

I could try this in a different framework, specially in flutter. but who knows. maybe some prefer react-native or javascript related, some prefer "real" native(Swift,Kotlin,Obj-C,Java). It'll be just a side project for me.

Collapse
 
jrock2004 profile image
John Costanzo

Umm remind me again why you would build an app when PWA would be so much better? And if that was not an option, why not something like Apache Cordova?

Collapse
 
gauravchaddha1996 profile image
Gaurav Chaddha • Edited

I was looking for ways to start open sourcing. The android PWA is good, but I'll prefer a native app. Now I know where I can begin.

Collapse
 
architectak profile image
Ankit Kumar

Thanks for the reply. Will look in to the repos.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yeah, we're putting more time into iOS at the moment because it has worse support for PWA (those jerks!)

thepracticaldev / DEV-ios

DEV Community iOS App

Build Status GitHub License Language

DEV iOS 💖

This is the repo for the dev.to iOS app. It is still a work in progress, but getting there!

Design ethose

We will grow to include more native code over time, but for now we are taking the approach of native shell/web views. This approach lost favor early in iOS days, but I believe it is a very valid approach these days. It is inspired by how Basecamp does things. Our tech stack is a bit different, but the ideas are the same.

m.signalvnoise.com/basecamp-3-for-...

signalvnoise.com/posts/3743-hybrid...

signalvnoise.com/posts/3766-hybrid...

youtube.com/watch?v=SWEts0rlezA

By leveraging wkwebviews as much as possible, I think we can make this all pretty awesome and sync up with our web dev work pretty smoothly. And where it makes sense, we can re-implement certain things fully native, or build entirely native features. Life's a journey, not a destination.

Contributing

  1. Fork and clone the project.
  2. Install Carthage. If…

Things are looking pretty close and the existing issues/PRs should take us pretty much all the way to a useful v0. Any help on pushing those along would be super duper awesome!

Thread Thread
 
drbragg profile image
Drew Bragg

It's sad really because I use dev.to as a PWA on my phone and Chromebook and it's so awesome. If it wasn't for iOSs shitty support of PWAs I would see no reason for a native app