DEV Community

Terri Fricker
Terri Fricker

Posted on

Easy to Git

What I Learned From Hacktoberfest

This was my first Hacktoberfest and I learned a lot. I had previously tried making valuable pull requests to apply for an Outreachy internship, but struggled to know how to help on a very large project. Recently I came across a project that was designed for beginners to Git and GitHub to be able to contribute to a simple project, even as a beginning coder.

The repository,

GitHub logo DavidMatthewFraser / easy-to-git

πŸ‘©β€πŸ”¬ πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’» A project designed to start you on your journey as an Open-source contributor

provided a few challenges that added items to the project website, such as creating and customizing a profile card with only html and css
Image of six of the cards produced

or adding an animated object to a solar system page.
Image of solar system page with space objects

I was easily able to code these challenges and began adding other changes such as adding a new color theme and a weather widget. I was asked to be a collaborator just prior to Hacktoberfest because I was consistently making changes, so I was a new maintainer as well as a contributor. Hacktoberfest gave the project reach so I was able to review and approve many pull requests.

I feel ready to use Git and GitHub in a team at a company, needing to learn the particular workflow of the company, but knowing the basics enough to be confident saying, "I've used Git and GitHub" on my resume.

Top comments (0)