DEV Community

Cover image for Remote work journey - Day 3
Ferit 🌟🕌
Ferit 🌟🕌

Posted on • Updated on

Remote work journey - Day 3

General

It seems in Germany people fu*** don't care. I'm questioning the ability of reasoning from most people here. People are stilling chilling in parks, bringing kids to playgrounds or having play dates.

I'm not against this. Worldwide we have almost 9K of deaths and 220K of infected people officially.

Right now this is my best hypothesis about Europeans and why they act like business as usual:

Productivity is lower than I expect but I feel that over the next days or week I will hopefully normalize more and more. Thanks to Zalando for openly communicating that we should take care of family first and work from home (remote-first) when possible.

Fun note: Beginning next day, I will try out Snap Camera in our Daily Standups 😃 I feel that some of my co-workers being totally alone and isolated at home need a laugh. Me too.

Work

After having my first remote Retrospective yesterday I had my first remote 1on1. My Lead was on holidays for 2-3 weeks and came back to this whole 180° changed company setup. We had a lot of topics, a lot to discuss and somehow 1h was not enough. It was mainly work with some Off-topic talk around Home-Schooling, Groceries and Kids 😃

At the same time we are currently discussing how we can setup a clear Bug process and it seems that no matter what solution you could provide some people won't like it.

TIL

Regarding the bug process Workgroup, I'm part of:

  • Don't try to satisfy all stakeholders. Understand the underlying root cause, problems and focus on them. Accept that some people won't agree with you.
  • Define your Problem and Purpose clear. Always start with that and evaluate your solutions against them.

I have realized that managing too many different stakeholders can easily result in a solution with many trade-offs. I got valuable feedback from our Frontend Chapter + Lead.

Take care and feel free to share your situation via blogposts or comments here 🤩


Past Posts:


Top comments (0)