DEV Community

Cover image for Attempt #1: Daily Log
Joe Mainwaring
Joe Mainwaring

Posted on • Updated on

Attempt #1: Daily Log

This post has been rewritten to better fit the series narrative.

In deciding to participate in #100DaysOfCode, I first tired to participate in a manner that I saw others doing. Only thing was, my goals didn't necessarily align with their scope:

  • I wasn't a rookie, I was participating as someone operating 4 saas products with a million subscribers. I came to level up my skills, but it would be different.
  • I wasn't learning a single skill. My singular objective in participating was build confidence in building my own SaaS products. Given I had no intention of building every feature myself, it meant I would need to take the opposite approach: Write as little code as possible to achieve the result, and transfer responsibilities elsewhere.
  • I had an understanding for how my best work surfaces. I can be a perfectionist, but I always fail if I focus on completion. Instead, if I take a milestone approach, I could have incremental progress and could later revisit when the topic felt fresh again.

There was also the factor of I didn't have clearly defined goals to align this work to, partly due to the impact my cancer treatment was having at the time. But as we've progressed into 2022, the goals have sharpened and become clearer :)

Instead of trying to document the various efforts in a daily format, I've opted instead to share the macro-level efforts I'm tagging as #100DaysOfCode. I estimate that over the course of the 2022 calendar year, I will have invested at least 100 days of time towards improving my skills with the intent of deploying for-profit SaaS products, and will try to encompass as many broader discussions as I can author.

Top comments (0)