DEV Community

Cover image for Sharpening My Skills with 100 Days of Code
Joe Mainwaring
Joe Mainwaring

Posted on

Sharpening My Skills with 100 Days of Code

I've been creating enterprise-grade software for the better part of the last decade, but between pandemic-induced burnout and stage 4 cancer, I haven't done much development work in the last 24 months. With my health trending in the right direction and the new year upon us, it felt like the right time to rebuild some productive habits.

The 100 Days of Code challenge is a community-driven cohort focused on improving programming skills over the course of 100 days. The challenge has two rules:

  1. Spend at least 1 hour every day programming
  2. Post an update on your progress

Challenge Goals

By participating in the challenge, my goal is to refresh my skills in developing & deploying a full-stack application. Upon completing the challenge, I hope to have:

  • A MVP of a single-feature application deployed for production use.
  • Deployment of the application should be driven using CI/CD.
  • The code should have high test coverage (Stretch goal: 100%)
  • The project should leverage third-party services when appropriate to minimize code ownership to the primary feature.

Progress Updates

Adhering to the challenge rules, I intend to post daily updates on my progress. I anticipate most updates will be simple summaries of the work I performed, but perhaps a tutorial or two will find surface as I iterate through the development of the application.


Have you undertaken the 100 days of code challenge? Share your experiences or questions below in the comments.

Top comments (0)